Which RAM? PC7200 OR PC3200? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-17-2004, 05:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Which RAM? PC2700 OR PC3200?

In my PC right now, I have 1 stick of 256mb PC7200 RAM. I'm about to buy another stick, of 512MB.

Should I get PC3200 OR 2700?.

Specs:

Aopen AX45 8XN MOBO
P4 2.40GHZ CPU
1 STICK 256MB RAM PC2700
80GB HD
Radeon 9700 Pro 128mb
Win XP Pro

+ Other specs that arent relevant to my question

Thanks for any advice....

P.S I use my PC for gaming and burning videos/music.
__________________

A Wizard is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 05:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 125
Default

I assume you mean PC2700. Your title says 7200 and your first sentence also. If you mean 2700 then, it's not a good idea to buy a RAM with different frequency. Try to be consistent with the frequencies.
__________________

__________________
Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Lian-Li G70B
Core 2 Duo E6400@3.3ghz
2GB Mushkin Redline XP-8000
150GB Raptor
Hitachi 160GB Desktar
NEC 3520A
eVGA 7900GT Signature Series
Dell 2007FP WUXGA
Wall7486 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 05:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

If u buy a stick of 3200 it will only run at the speed of 2700 becuase it is limited by the slower stick so its really upto if u want to settle for the cheaper 2700 or get the 3200 and replace the 2700 later on.
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 05:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

If the front side bus of your processor is 333MHz then stick with the PC2700. PC3200 will only clock down to PC2700 speeds and you will not receive any benefits from it. The best rule of thumb is match the bus speed of the; processor, memory and motherboard and you can't go wrong. Now don't get me wrong, you can use PC3200 but it will default to PC2700 speeds so if you plan on upgrading to something else later that takes PC3200 then get the PC3200. Mixing memory speeds will have no ill effects.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 11-17-2004, 05:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

I meant 2700, im dyslexic
A Wizard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.