Ram Oc? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2005, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Ram Oc?

I see alot of things refering to OCing ram in timings like: 2-2-2-5 or something like that. Question: What does that mean? When I OC my CPU it automatically OCs my RAM accordingly, How do you do it manually and why would you? Thanks.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 02:36 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

ram timings is how long it takes for your ram to perform certain cycles (ill let others get more into detail)

you also have to set your latency timings in your mobo bios. go to www.cpuid.com and get cpu-z to check ur timings.
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

When you OC your processor, you must OC your RAM also. Your processor works alot faster then your RAM, so increasing cpu speed without RAM speed will not work stably. RAM timings are extremely simple to understand. RAM timings are the delay your processor must wait, for your RAM to process data. Since processors are that much faster then RAM, they must add timings. Or your RAM would get fluded with data, it would be complete disorder. The lower the latency, the faster your RAM can start handling data. Once your system is OC, your RAM speeds will increase.. Voltage must be increased, so it has the electrical power is needs to work at a faster rate. Increase in speed and voltage leads to bigger latency. When you OC, you must loosen timings. Your RAM determines how loose they need to be. TCCD chips can handle more speed and voltage per timing. Which means you can OC much more, while having low latency.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 01:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So, how do I go about doing this? Doesn't the BIOS do it automatically?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 03:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Your system will OC your RAM according to your HTT frequency. But your system is not responsible for RAM timings. You must set them.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

So how do I do it and what are good timings?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 05-29-2005, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

It depends on your RAM. What type of RAM it is, and what your timings are already. I see you have Geil RAM. Which is not good for OC. With that type of RAM, the timings would already be high. So you cant really configure them. I would just OC, but dont expect to much. You should stick with a 200-300mhz OC tops. Intil you invest in so good RAM. If you have cheap RAM, you cannot OC very far.
__________________

__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.