Ram not working properly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2004, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12
Default Ram not working properly

Iv just finished my first build and i put a stick of 512mb ram in but when i check it says there is only 384mb, does any1 know whats wrong?

Steve-o is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

Post your system specs on here.

There could be many reasons that its displaying a lower amt of RAM.

Also, where are you checking this?? BIOS/My Computer/Task Manager??


Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 10:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451

If it is an old PC, there is a good chance that the motherboard may have a limit on the amount of RAM, and that limit may be 384mb.
Chubz is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 11:01 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12

i have a intel 2.4ghz processor
generic 512mb pc3200 400mhz
80gb hitachi hard drive
a-bit sg72 motherboard
nec dvd 8x
lg cdrw

it was in control panel at performance and maintenance
Steve-o is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

Looking at the board specs you have onboard video unless you installed a APG graphics card. The onboard video could be set to 128MB of shared memory and this will make up the difference between 384 and 512MBs. I bet if you went into your BIOS and changed the amount of video memory to 64MBs it would also change the total amount of memory seen by your computer. Also double check to see if the BIOS is reporting all 512MBs. The memory is probably working fine, the shared video memory is probably set too high.
Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 07:06 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 12

Thanks for that, that was exactly what the problem was, Thanks again.

Steve-o is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.