RAM, mobo question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2004, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default RAM, mobo question

i am going to buy this mobo http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...131-490&depa=0

what kind of RAM should i buy? (PC2700, 3400, etc.)
__________________

TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

First, Which CPU are you gonna get? I would use the PC3200 if the front side bus is 400MHz. Looks like a very nice board. It should serve you well. What does the whole setup look like?
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to TeLeMuNdO!
Default

yeah, i'm gonna get the anthlon 64 3200+ http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-416&depa=1
TeLeMuNdO! is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 05:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Nice processor(envy), I would definately go with PC3200. The FSB is 400MHz so that would be the memory I would buy. Don't go lower and if you go higher then PC3200, do it at your own risk.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 07:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1
Default

When it comes to the A64, research, research, and research again. These processors are very picky. You can only use 2 sticks of 2 sided ddr at 400 MHZ or higher. SO if you plan on more than 1GB you have to use 333MHz. A64s are fast, there worth every penny. I would stick with ddr400 (3200), its you best bet to stay stable.
DanH1081 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.