RAM/Mobo compatibility question... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2004, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Question RAM/Mobo compatibility question...

Ok, most of my comp stuff just arrived today (still waiting on case & HD), and I was reading the mobo manual. It's the P4P800 SE from Asus, and I was reading the "Qualified Vendor List" table, which lists the DDR400 Modules that have been tested and qualified for the mobo and there were 3 model #s for Kingston. Well, I have x2 256 DIMMs (retail) from Kingston and the product model# is KVR400X64C3AK2/512, and this number isn't under the table. Does that mean that I can't use these Modules or that they just haven't been tested and qualified (yet)?
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 373
Default

Its compatable. The motherboard supports DDR 400 which is what your RAM is.
__________________

__________________
AMD 3800+ X2
Zalman CNPS7000B CPU Heatsink/Fan
ASUS A8N Premium
2 GB G. Skill DDR 400 (2 X 1 GB)
1 GB Ultra DDR 400 (2 X 512 GB)
eVGA 7800GT 256MB
120 GB seagate HD (7200RPM)
80 GB Seagate HD (7200RPM)
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 Platium ZS Sound Card
Logitec z5300 5.1 THX certified speaker
Medusa 5.1 Headphones
ATI TV turner card
DVD Drive
CD Burner Drive
Razer Copperhead Gaming mouse
Nikkon is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

So I guess it's not listed probably because it just hasn't been tested? Ok, for a moment there I thought that I would have to return it and go through a long wait. Thanks a bunch.
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 03:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

I just checked the Kingston website, and here's what they had to say regarding that particular motherboard and ValueRAM:

"Virtually any configuration up to 4GB can be reached using any combination of Kingston's 128, 256, 512MB, and 1GB modules."

You're good to go
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.