Ram latency readings - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 11:53 PM   #11 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The Merlin
Maximum PC's March 2004 Issue states:

Memory Parameter--------------Range of typical values(in clock cycles)
----------------------- ------------------------------------------------
RAS to CAS Delay ----------------- 2 or 3
CAS latency --------------------- 2, 2.5, 3(DDR) or 2, 3(SDRAM)
RAS Precharge ------------------- 2, 3
Command Rate -------------------- 1, 2
Active to Precharge Delay --------- 3, 4, 5, 6, 7

Timings are normally listed in the order or:

2(CAS latency)-3(RAS to CAS Delay)-3(RAS Precharge)-7(Active to Precharge)-1T(Command Rate)


And these are the facts I base my previous claims on
hmmm.... interesting... thx. good post.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 11:56 PM   #12 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

There is memory out there with lanencies like 4-6-6-12. That's what I meant about no restrictions, as they are timings. The slower the memory's core, the higher timings it will have.
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 12:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Default

Well that sux, now I have to look into returning my memory. I meant to buy low latency ram.

Is 2-2-3-3-6 going to perform a lot better than my current 3-4-4-8?
__________________
Steam = bew556

Watch me on Twitch: www.twitch.tv/bew556
bew556 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 12:18 AM   #14 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bew556
Well that sux, now I have to look into returning my memory. I meant to buy low latency ram.

Is 2-2-3-3-6 going to perform a lot better than my current 3-4-4-8?
Depends on systme components and how much they draw from your memory. The new memory is decent and doesn't need to be returned. (he he im gonna now draw up a tut on timings thx for the idea.
XT is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 12:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Default

You don't think I should return it? It will cost be about 25 more to get the 2-2-3-3-6. Im trying to get as much performance out of my pc as possible and ready for hl2.
__________________
Steam = bew556

Watch me on Twitch: www.twitch.tv/bew556
bew556 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 12:27 AM   #16 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bew556
You don't think I should return it? It will cost be about 25 more to get the 2-2-3-3-6. Im trying to get as much performance out of my pc as possible and ready for hl2.
I thought you bought the 2-2-3-3-6. If you indeed did buy the 3-4-4-8 than i would return it for 25$ more.
XT is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 12:35 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Default

Yeah i bought the 3-4-4-8 but now I'm going to return it. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Steam = bew556

Watch me on Twitch: www.twitch.tv/bew556
bew556 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 01:04 AM   #18 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

2-3-3-6 would be a huge step. But keep in mind, considering u have an AMD, the CAS latency might be 2.5. Therefore they would be 2.5-3-3-6. It is like that with a lot of RAM, so check it first.
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 02:53 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

Hey my mobo has the option to add .3V or .5v to my DIMM slots shoudl i enable it? same for AGP and CPU should i enable thoses to? cause iherd ading vooltage to DIMM slots would lower timings
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 08-18-2004, 03:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 88
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by agex000
2-3-3-6 would be a huge step. But keep in mind, considering u have an AMD, the CAS latency might be 2.5. Therefore they would be 2.5-3-3-6. It is like that with a lot of RAM, so check it first.
How do I check this and is it bad if it is 2-5-3-3-6 instead of 2-2-3-3-6?
__________________

__________________
Steam = bew556

Watch me on Twitch: www.twitch.tv/bew556
bew556 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.