Ram Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 01:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Angry Ram Issues

Completely puzzled on this one so I thought I'd see if anyone has had the same problem. Got a P4 Gigabyte mother board(tried 2 boards; both dual channel capable)and P4 processors(tried 3 different)and whenever There is more than 1 GB of RAM it will fail RAM tests..... When I put in a celeron class processor it passes with flying colors.....
ANY CLUES??
Using 2 sets of 1GB Dual channel RAM(multiple brands, Kingston Value, Corsair Value, and Platinum-none pass test when over 1 GB but will when ran by themselves)
GA-8s655fx ( BIOS updated to newest)
GA-8IPE1000
__________________

Airteck is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

When running dual channel memory it is recommended to use the exact same brand, otherwise.. you might have those issues; especially with value RAM.
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Question

Srry.... maybe I wasn't clear on the RAM.... I tried using 2 GB of each of the different brands.... no-go on any of them....
Airteck is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Oh, every dual channel setup was the same brand... I see.

Ok, some stupid questions first. Were the dual's in the right slots as per your MB's manual? (usually 1/2 2/4)

Did you enable dual channel in bios?

If they are passing memtests by themselves but not together, perhaps you have a bad slot? Can you experiment to see if you only have a problem with one slot?

(leaving work now, will get on later)
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 05:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Tried a different motherboard..... tried disabling Hyper threading... tried contacting Gigabyte(lol)....... switching system to an AMD 64( a true system) and away from intel.... but I still need to figure out this glitch, and when Giga-bites get back to me I'll post there response...
Airteck is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Ok, let us know. It would be nice to find out what the issue actually is.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-09-2005, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 4
Red face

Still waiting on Giga-bite to get back to me.....
__________________

Airteck is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.