RAM - How much is anough? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2005, 09:42 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

How do you turn your Page File off?

(I have 512MB RAM so sometimes my page file is sometimes around 700MB so I would need around 2GB of RAM if I shut it off)

I'm just wonder if games would play faster if you had 2GB with PF off.
I think it would be 5x as fast.(when loading)
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:02 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 83
Default

in virtual memory settings u can turn off paging file--> in system properties search around, u'll find it. i'm wondering the same as u, i don't know if games would run faster or maybe they would run smoother if all required data for lets say one level or map is loaded into ram. maybe 1gb is enough. i don't think i would try turning off page with 512ram. i should try with my 1 gb...
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz, 1Gb pc3200
BFG 6800gt, samsung 19\"
Audigy 2 ZS, TruePower 550 watt
160Gb SATA

3Dmark05 - 4750, Aquamark3 - 59 200
crow0021 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 10:26 AM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Ok, so can someone explain to me Paging File. What exactly is it? If it makes games run faster, I will turn it off.
Nemein is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:19 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 83
Default

paging file is like ram on your hard drive. u add your RAM size(eg. 256mb) and your paging file size(eg. 512mb) to find the amount of memory available to your computer. your computer will use your RAM and paging file for your applications, games. of course u know that RAM is much, much faster than a hard drive. so the more RAM, the less need for the slow paging file on the hard drive. most people are saying 1gb of ram is enough, this amount will give best game performance. don't turn off your paging file unless u have a crazy amount of ram. your system won't go faster, by turning it off with little ram, u will get memory errors...

i was just suggesting for the boys with 1gb of ram into gaming only, to try turning off the paging file to see if 1gb is adequate amount. if it is, we shouldn't memory errors. if we get these errors, then we could possibably benefit from even more ram..
__________________
Pentium 4 3.0Ghz, 1Gb pc3200
BFG 6800gt, samsung 19\"
Audigy 2 ZS, TruePower 550 watt
160Gb SATA

3Dmark05 - 4750, Aquamark3 - 59 200
crow0021 is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 11:27 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Oh, ok. I see... thnx.
Nemein is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

the Paging file is automatically set to 1 1/2 times the amount of your total system RAM
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:44 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

And to add to that the page file has zero impact on performance.
ChipXI is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 05:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the less paging file you're able to use the faster it is.
for some reason some programs require you to have paging file, so you might want to set about 5MB or something if you have a lot of RAM
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
the less paging file you're able to use the faster it is.
for some reason some programs require you to have paging file, so you might want to set about 5MB or something if you have a lot of RAM
That post is full of poopy. Check it man...

http://www.blackviper.com/
ChipXI is offline  
Old 01-24-2005, 06:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 184
Default

Yeah check BlackViper.com that will give you all the right answers

I think the above idea is that if your hard drive is being accessed to get 'paging RAM' then that would make things slower than just accessing the normal RAM which is quicker...

I don't know if that is true, it sounds logical!
__________________

rememberme is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.