RAM, help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2005, 07:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default RAM, help

I have a 512mb ddr 400mhz stick of ram in my pc, should i have my 256mb ddr 400mhz ram along side it or leave it out, what will run better.
__________________

icemagic is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Sorrow Send a message via Yahoo to Sorrow
Default

As long as they are the same Mhz It won't matter...May I suggest another 512 Stick Of DDR 400mhz.
__________________

Sorrow is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 08:35 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

yea sure because they are both 400Mhz its fine
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Get another stick of 512 MB.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

512 is enough for me, but i was wondering if its worth usin the 256, i figured no use just leaveing it there.

ill put the 252 back in then.
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 09:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 957
Send a message via AIM to M4A1
Default

Another 512!
M4A1 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 51
Default

No, i dont want to buy another 512, id rather save my money,
__________________
My computer
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 3200+
RAM: 768MB DDR RAM
GPU: Ge-Force 6600LE 256DDR
HDD: 80GB
DVD: 16X duel layer burner
icemagic is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 11:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 611
Default

Neh...a 7xx Ram (too lazy to do math) is good. Just as long as your mobo supports uneven ram.
__________________
AMD Newcastle skt 754 3000+
Elitegroup 755-A2 ATX motherboard
512 DDR RAM
120 gig PATA Hard drive
128 mb AGP 8x ATI Radeon 9250
300 watt 12 volt psu
Antec SLK 1600 case
emeraldice is offline  
Old 04-28-2005, 01:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

512 will noticably increase performance.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.