Ram, and Harddrive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2004, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default Ram, and Harddrive

Would upgrading my existing ram to a high end set like Corsair XMS make any difference speed or preformance in my gaming? Also would getting a harddrive with an 8MB Buffer as opposed to the one I have now which is a 2MB Buffer make any speed difference?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well....your motherboard doesn't support dual channel which would probably result in the biggest increase in performance. Besides that, you'll get a performance increase going to the XMS ram, but it'll be anywhere from $225 -$300 depending on if you want the absolute XTRA LOW LATENCY which is the higher priced. All in all it wouldn't be worth it to pay that much money when you more than likely won't see an astronomical increase in performance, especially since you aren't running in dual channel or even capable of running it for that matter. As for the HD, I really don't know. I'm not sure how much the buffer effects system speed.

If you got money to spend and want an extra 1gb of RAM laying around for a possible second computer in the future, go for it, but for the most part you wont see any huge difference compared to the dent in your wallet
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

doesnt your system perform pritty good as is?

if your talking specifically for gaming, the biggest improvment for the least amount of money would be to prolly get a CRT monitor.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 10:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

having lower latency ram will make the frame transitions looks smoother, but the increase wont be taht big as ur system is already good.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 11:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 592
Default

Quote:
doesnt your system perform pritty good as is?
I love my system, and there is nothing that wont run on it in the highest settings. (except for Doom3) I am just trying to add the last few upgrades that I couldn't afford when I built to machine, to make it perfect. But if the Ram isnt going to make a difference, im not going to spend the $300.
__________________
ASUS P8Z68 Deluxe
Intel Core i7 2600k
16GB DDR3 G-Skill Ripjaws
1TB 7200 Segagte Drive
eVGA GeForce 570
Samsung Blu-Ray Drive
Antec 850 Watt PSU
Windows 7 Professional
Blackmoore is offline  
Old 10-08-2004, 11:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 261
Send a message via Yahoo to mre30
Default

Ram will make a little difference but not what you are expecting to get form it
__________________

mre30 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.