ram: fsb speed vs amount - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2004, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to axiomflash
Default ram: fsb speed vs amount

I am running a new Abit KV8 and AMD Athlon 64 3500+ setup. I have 1 gig of ram at 400mhz, and 512mb at 333mhz. The motherboard won't let the ram run a different speeds apparently so I have 2 choices. I can...

a) run with 1 gig of 400mhz ram, or

b) run with 1.5 gigs of 333mhz ram

Does anyone know which will run better with this processor/mobo setup. Also, If I run the first setup it means I can sell that older ram I have for a couple bucks. Appreciate the advice!
__________________

axiomflash is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 11:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 754
Send a message via AIM to slvrstang
Default

I would definitely go 1GB @ 400mhz.
__________________

__________________

Q6600 G0 @ 3.80ghz
MCR-320-->Dtek Fuzion V2-->Dtek Fuzion GFX2-->Swiftech MCP-655-->
Asus P5K deluxe
4x1gb Crucial Ballistix @ 846mhz 5-5-5-15
8800GT
3x 250gb HDDs
Hiper 580w
Coolermaster 690 w/ water cooling mods
3dmark06 - 15,602
SuperPi 1M - 12.421s
slvrstang is offline  
Old 11-10-2004, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yes I would also go with

a) run with 1 gig of 400mhz ram
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

I would also go with the 1GB. At those capacitys, it is best to use higher speed memory.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-11-2004, 02:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

If you use your system mostly for gaming, having faster memory is probably better than having more slower memory. More memory is useful if you run out of memory during normal use. I personally just need 512MB for all my apps. It really depends on your usage of the system.
overclock4fun is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.