Is this RAM dual channel? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2005, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default Is this RAM dual channel?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...146-299&depa=1

Thanks
__________________

Homer_J is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It's not guarnteed dual channel, but it should run in dual channel
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 04:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

RAM is not dual channel. The motherboard and CPU have to support dual channel. When you see kits called 'Dual Channel RAM' it just means its been tested and guaranteed to run in dual channel. Those should have no problems running DC.

They just gotta be same speed and spec and generally same brand although some people have gotten it with different brands, don't know how often that is though.

Check your mobo manual to clarify if it'll support DC
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Yeah, nubius is rite. I suggest getting different RAM though. I mean brand by that.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Mushkin is good memory.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for your help. My mobo supports dual channel, so we'll see how well it runs.
Homer_J is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 05:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

Mushkin is not bad... But there are better brands out there.
SanToast is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

I suggets Kingston, mushkin and kingston are both good.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 262
Default

1) (E)lixar
2) Corsair
3) OCZ
4) Kingston
5) Mushkin
SanToast is offline  
Old 02-01-2005, 08:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 129
Default

yeah your mobo has to support dual channel, i have two 256 ddr333 sticks that are entirely different brand names, and purchased a year apart. i pluged them in to my mobo and it automaticaly assigned dual channel, works fine. although i heard that both dimms need to be identical sizes, i havent experimented with that yet but even so if they do work with different sizes, by logic, 2 of the same size woulb be more efficient that two different sizes.
__________________

__________________
---------------------
Abit NF7-S mobo
AMD Sempron 2500+ @ 1902MHz
Nvidia xfx ge-force 5200, 128MB
WD 20GB HDD SATA (system)
Maxtor 120GB HDD IDE (storage)
1024MB Dual Cannel 400MHz RAM
350W Aurora PSU
Win XP SP2
Memorex 16x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW
---------------------
180Mhz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.