Ram dividers. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2009, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Ram dividers.

How are RAM dividers determined?
__________________

__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 08:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Ram dividers.

Do you mean the heatsinks on the ram modules?
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-09-2009, 10:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: Ram dividers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lexluethar View Post
Do you mean the heatsinks on the ram modules?
No, I mean the FSB : DRAM ratio.

I.E.

When I set my BIOS to absolute default, I get a FSB : DRAM of CPU FSB/6. When I overclock my Processor to 2888Mhz, I have to set my RAM speed to 200Mhz, and it gives my FSB : DRAM ratio CPU FSB/11. Is there any way I can change that manually? When I overclock my processor, I would like to have a divider of 7. Instead of 11. That would give me a memory speed of 412Mhz, instead of 262Mhz that the 11 divider gives me.
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 08-10-2009, 03:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Ram dividers.

Oh, you mean the ratio. Your BIOS should have a setting to set your RAM speed, should have several options to choose from.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM Question dem0x7 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 06-04-2009 10:20 AM
RAM Question LFCJohnSmith System Upgrades 3 05-20-2009 12:11 PM
athlon x2 black edition, & memory dividers. RichM499 Overclocking and Modding 38 11-19-2008 11:53 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.