ram/cpu/ide questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-10-2006, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Question ram/cpu/ide questions

I have an AOpen AX3L mobo, its a 366 cele, but its a socket 370, and i got a socket 370 p3 1.0ghz, would that work? the mobo is jumperless and has some awsome overclocking controls.

another question, i got a stick of 512, and two sticks of 64 in here, but windows says(and bios) it only got like 370, i think the 512 is bad, or the mobo dont support it, so i would like to know where i can find memtest, or someting similar so i can test it. also the mobo i think supports 512, but just with the 512, it shows up as like 280 or somethin

last question, is it true that a hdd on the same ide ribbion as a cd-rw actually decreases the preformance of that hdd?

just a few questions cause i just built this as an upgrade from the one on my sig(also i got this cele 366 oced to like 450, with some massive cooling from the p3, 80mm, 2in high, 2 in wide, 2 in long, but ran fine with a laptop style fan, bout 2cm high, 1.5x1.5 inches)
------------------
System Information
------------------
Time of this report: 8/10/2006, 19:16:16
Machine name: ***************
Operating System: Microsoft Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600) Service Pack 1 (2600.xpsp1.020828-1920)
Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
System Manufacturer: AWARD_
System Model: AWRDACPI
BIOS: AWARD - 42302e31
Processor: Intel Celeron, MMX, ~458MHz
Memory: 384MB RAM
Page File: 128MB used, 794MB available

---------------
Display Devices
---------------
Card name: 3dfx Voodoo3
Manufacturer: 3dfx Interactive, Inc.
Chip type: 3dfx Voodoo 3
DAC type: 3dfx Internal DAC
Device ID: Enum\PCI\VEN_121A&DEV_0005&SUBSYS_0036121A&REV_01
Display Memory: 16.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280 x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: 3dfxvs.dll
Driver Version: 5.00.2489.0028 (English)
DDI Version: 7
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 8/17/2001 14:55:58, 689216 bytes


Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000
Manufacturer: NVIDIA
Chip type: GeForce4 MX 4000
DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
Device ID: Enum\PCI\VEN_10DE&DEV_0185&SUBSYS_00000000&REV_C1
Display Memory: 128.0 MB
Current Mode: 1280x 1024 (32 bit) (60Hz)
Monitor: Plug and Play Monitor
Monitor Max Res: 1600,1200
Driver Name: nv4_disp.dll
Driver Version: 6.14.10.9131 (English)
DDI Version: Unknown
Driver Attributes: Final Retail
Driver Date/Size: 6/1/2006 17:22:00, 4529408 bytes


edit: one more question, got a maj prob, my new hdd is running at 122F!!! that aint good, ne sugestions?

Your hard disk is a WDC WD800JB-00JJC0 with firmware 05.01C05.
The average temperature for this hard disk is 37C (MIN=27C MAX=48C) and yours is 50C.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

http://memtest.org

Theoretically, yes, the 1ghz P3 will work, but your board may cripple it if it doesn't fully support the chip's FSB.

As for the harddrive, yeah, that is a tad warm, but how big is the case, is anything crowded in it, and where is the drive positioned?

CD writer and HD on the same chain MAY bog down connections some, but not a whole lot. Still, if you can swing it to where they're on separate channels, not the worst idea.
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 08-10-2006, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

so if i put the p3 in it, will it fry the mobo or the cpu? i could care less about the cpu, but its the mobo im worried about, second, te hdd cooled down to 47, and its all in a compaq deskpro eb/sp series case, with 2 120mm 2 80mm and a 60mm fan, and the reason for the ide question is because i formatted the 40gb and it took forever(its on the came channel as the cd-rw)

edit: the fsb on the board is 83.5 right now, the p3 is 100-133
also on memtest, how i use it?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 03:58 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 167
Default

i wud assume it would fry the CPU if there was any risk of that as all, your memory just sounds like a dogy stick, if it was the mobo it would probably just not see the memory full stop!
__________________
Oh Gay my sig got removed!
chrisds is offline  
Old 08-11-2006, 04:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

figured it was a bad stick, or it could just be a compatability issue, on another pc, didnt recognize it, but on a compaq, it got all 512, but that pc sucsks so it keeps in here, ill do the cpu tomorrow, its like 2am here in cali, and i got to wake up at 6
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.