RAM, big difference in game? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2005, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default RAM, big difference in game?

Is there a big difference in Gaming between 512 ram and 1024 ram?

Take Counter-Strike 1.6 and Counter-Striker : Source for example.

Would there be a big difference?
__________________

meepins is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,178
Default

Running on Windows XP with nothing else--I would think a slight difference (comparing this to a friends newly built PC), he just added another Gig of RAM up from 512, and it made a HUGE difference for him, but he runs many apps in the background.

Er, so I think if your a multitasker, otherwise...it'd be slight (IMO)
__________________

__________________
Vormund is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

It makes quite a bit of difference if your using a decent processor and video card
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Usually having a gig or ram is about all that you are going to need in a system. Especially if you have a good video card and processor.
__________________
-Pentium IV 2.6C w/Hyper Threading Technology
-1GB DDR PC3200 RAM
-Radeon 9800 XT
-120GB 10,000 RPM SATA HD
-52x 48x 52x Sony CD Rom Drive
-16x DVD R/RW Drive
-Windows XP Professional
-Creative Labs Sound Blaster Audigy2 ZS Platinum Pro
-Intel i875 800MHZ FSB motherboard
-1.44 MB Floppy Drive
-Thermaltake Pro case
Jonesie is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:46 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 108
Default

I have Pentium 4 2.8Ghz HT, and *going to be* eVGA 6600GT
but only got 512mb. I am quiet a multi-tasker but quiet low on the budget too.

Any suggestions?
meepins is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 11:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 141
Default

You can never have too much ram.

Try this place

www.certifiedcomp.com

Ive gone personally to their store and they have pretty good bargains.
__________________
http://anti-hypocrite.blogspot.com/

All things in life create a quandary.
DummyTron is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I have 1 GB and its so much faster than 512MB. Another benefit to 1GB is there is not as much lag in Windows XP after you exit games.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 01:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

actually you can have too much ram... apart from it being expensive, (and wasting your money) if you have dual channel, you get less fps if you have 2gb than 1gb.

I do realise i wasted my money in the present having 1.5gb's, but i made a huge mistake of getting 512mb, and i didnt want to have to throu all that away when games require 1gb, and it wouldnt surprise me if that is in 2005.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.