Which ram ??????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2005, 04:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 80
Default Which ram ???????

Hi.
I have an Asus P5AD2E premium board and 630j processor and 6600gt Leadtek
Its a new rig and i m yet to buy a Ram

Its a little hard to select so i need a little help.
These r the ones i ve seen

Corsair PC4200 Value select 1024 mb kit (512*2) 1149 kr

OR


Corsair Value S. PC5300 DDR2 1024MB Kit w/two matched Value Select 512MB 1449 kr



Corsair TWIN2X 5400 DDR2, 1024MB PC5400 Kit w/two matched CM2X512-5400C4 Dimm's 1719 Kr

or

Kingston DDR2 HyperX PC5400 512MB CL4 Kit w/two matched HyperX 256MB DDR2 1449 kr

Now i m quite confused about all these Rams . I m not a big overclocker but i will overclock occasionally and i want good performance within a budget. and these were the best choices i could find here in Sweden.
Or maybe someone else can come up with a better choice.
__________________

softhunder is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

Well, I'd personly, out of those, go for this one:

Quote:
Corsair TWIN2X 5400 DDR2, 1024MB PC5400 Kit w/two matched CM2X512-5400C4 Dimm's 1719 Kr
This is because it's one of the fastest in your list, you're getting 1GB of memory for your money; plus its Corsair!

Although, in saying this; the HyperX Kingstom DIMMs do have a high reputation for good over-clocking. But, as you can see, you only get 512MB of memory for only a little less than you can get 1GB of memory with the Corsair DIMMs.

But, it's your decision!

TMT.
__________________

TMT is offline  
Old 07-11-2005, 08:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

personally I'd get G.Skill RAM with Samsung TCCD's. without cooling it can reach DDR600 guaranteed. it does depend on the CPU though if it can hit a 300MHZ FSB stable
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.