Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2005, 11:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default Ram

I am gathering parts for a new comuter i am going to build. I am on a $1000 budget and i am already $200 over My friend is helping me gather parts but his list was up to $1500 so i am doing a little tweaking with the help ofd the TF community I am looking at RAM and want 1GB (dual channel (2 512mb)) of RAM. The Corsair sticks he reccomended me are $220 and i am trying to find an alternative while not sacraficeing too much preformance. Also is $200 way more than i need to spend on RAM?
Thanks

BTW: I'm getting a DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard and it memory specs are:
Memory
Number of DDR Slots 4x 184pin DDR
DDR Standard DDR 400 (PC 3200)
Maximum Memory Supported 4GB
Dual Channel Supported Yes
__________________

Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

don't pay that much!!!! Go to www.newegg.com and you can get 1 gig of DDR 400 for $84!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Well it depend if you plan on overclocking, as how nit picky you are about performance. Rico means ValueRAM or RAM that is NOT to be used for overclocking. If you want to oc anything make sure you get something worth while. Usually ~$150.

These will perform just as well if not better than the XMS, and they are much cheaper:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227211
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 821
Default

You want cheap? TwinMOS. Good RAM if you're not overclocking, good RAM if you are. Only $84 or so too.

If you decide to go with the OCZ though, you might as well put another $25 into it and go with the EL Platinum Revision 2 Dual Channel Kit.
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ socket 939 @ 2.3 GHz
MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum motherboard
EVGA GeForce 6800 GT
2 GB DDR 400 (PC 3200) (2 x 1 GB sticks) (Dual Channel)
DVD player and seperate DVD RW drive
Floppy Drive
80 GB Western Digital Hard Drive
500 watt power supply
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech 5.1 surround sound speakers
SAMSUNG SyncMaster 710T LCD monitor
Aspire X Navigator Case
Wayniac is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 04:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 211
Default

I'm not really sure if i want to overclock anyhthing seeing as this is my first build and i have absolutely no knowlege of overclocking. Is it very risky to oveclock and could i overclock certain parts of the computer like the processor (though ive heard AMD has some heat issues when it comes to overclocking is this true?)
Thanks
Dr Nick is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AMD doesnt have heat issues, all things get hotter when overclocked however

That's a ripoff for corsair ram, and if you can give the Twinmos 3.2 volts it's great overclocking RAM
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 06-23-2005, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

If you are not interested in overclocking...go wiht the value ram. It will run in dual channel mode (not that you may be running any apps that will utilize dc) If your obo support dc which I assume it will since you are looking at DDR 400 memory (pc3200). $84 is a great price!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.