ram!? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2003, 09:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default ram!?

right now i got 512 mb ram, is there a point on upgrading?
should i get another 512 mb ram chip?
is it possible to put em togeather?!!!!!!!!!
__________________

LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 11:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

do you mind giving a bit more information?

Do you have any RAM slots left on your mobo? What do you do with your computer- video editing gaming and photo editing or just word proc. and web surfing? What kind of RAM do you need? Is it dual or single channel?

Answer those questions for us then we can tell you if you need it or not.
__________________

g5orbust is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default

ughh
i all i know is
its ddram
and i have 2 spots left
only 3 there in total
i just play games, music, surf net, once in awhile imaging
LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 08-16-2003, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818
Default

doesnt sound like getting another 512MB would be worth it. Having 512MB should be adiquate for what you use your computer for.
g5orbust is offline  
Old 08-17-2003, 12:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 141
Default

Is a gig of ram a good idea for a home user at all? I have been going back and for (mainly due to cost) on getting either a 512Mb or a 1Gb set of Dual low latency dimms. Probably from Corsair, although I've heard good things about Kingston too, and Kingston is a little cheaper. I'm slowly buying pieces for a new PC system and I've got a Radeon All-in-wonder 9700 Pro on it's way and I'll be doing some home movie captures from our camcorder. I don't plan on doing much editing, just capture and burn to DVD, other than that I just play games. Would I notice that much of a difference?

Alexander

btw the Ram will be running Dual Channel on an Asus A7N8X deluxe with a 2500+ XP.
__________________
Thermaltake Xaser II A5000C (w/ 5 case fans)
AMD 2500+ (OCed to 3200+)
Asus A7N8X Deluxe
1 Gig Corsair XMS low latency pc3200
2x 80g Maxtor SATA (w/ Raid 0)
128Mb Nvidia GeForce FX 5700 Ultra
480w Thermaltake PSU
Video Capture Card (titantv.com ROCKS!)
16 Sony DVD Rom
52x/32x/52x Optorite CDRW
Alexander is offline  
Old 08-18-2003, 02:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

well if you want to play very memory intensive games then get the RAM disk
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.