Ram................. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-04-2005, 09:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

you'll never understand 64 bit and you have one. Nice concept there. J/K
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-04-2005, 09:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

sad aint it? i have a 64bit hardly understand the technology, and nubius here dont have one and understands it better.... :'(
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 12:03 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
everytime I talk to an owner of one and mention the HTT Link speed they never know what it is lol...know your hardware!
Yea Charles learn your hardware.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 01:12 AM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

i try to.... but being a no one in the middle of no wheres with a girl bugging you most of the time makes it hard... and i know my hardware.. just not very well...
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 01:41 AM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Nah don't get heatspreaders. Those G.Skills along with TwinMOS are some of the most OC'able memory out there and they dont use heatspreaders which many people suggest don't do crap anyway. Just get a fan blowing over them and they will be more than fine.
What if you just get some copper ramsinks and install those on the RAM yourself? On xoxide.com you can get copper ramsinks for like $7. Wouldn't that help solve the heat problem a little?
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 02:38 AM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Like i said the heat wont be a factor with my case being realy cold allready, and the way my side fan sits and the layout of my board is, theres a 80mm fan blowing on the cpu fan for added cooling and its blowing on the bottom 2 ram slots.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 04-05-2005, 03:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
What if you just get some copper ramsinks and install those on the RAM yourself? On xoxide.com you can get copper ramsinks for like $7. Wouldn't that help solve the heat problem a little
Yeah ramsinks would be better than heatspreaders because you know it's good contact. Best bet is to take off the thermal tape those ramsinks would come with and use like AS5 in the middle and dabs of super glue on the corners of the RAM chips instead of thermal epoxy so the RAM sinks can come off if you need them too.


Quote:
Like i said the heat wont be a factor with my case being realy cold allready, and the way my side fan sits and the layout of my board is, theres a 80mm fan blowing on the cpu fan for added cooling and its blowing on the bottom 2 ram slots.
Meh well I'm sayin those high ram speeds and somewhat high voltage (2.9 isn't THAT high) but with running a high MHz the RAM will get warm enough to sometimes not want to work properly
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-06-2005, 10:38 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

guess what, was going to order the memory TODAY and i wreck my car.... now ill never get that memory.... guess it will be on my wish list for xmass.... if they still make it....
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.