A Ram ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2004, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default A Ram ?

i was looking at the thread below, about memory... and was wondering... the avirage user doesnt realy need good ram, no?

wen i put together a new one, i was planning on getting the cheepest ram i could find, as long as its pc 3200. and not get an nforce2 bourd, since i saw micro's post.

is there something bad about cheep ram, for the average user? im not trying to hit any performance benchmark critearia.. and ram doesnt have any moving parts, so its not going to like break down quicker or something, will it?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 03:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31
Default

Cheap ram can give you TONS of errors and sometimes with errors you might get random restarts and program crashes. You're better off getting something midrange.
__________________

mramige is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 04:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

IF you get ram get a brand like Corsair, Kingston OCZ , etc. Try to get about CAS 2.5 for some midrange ram .
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 04:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

either explain, or try again

ps. if there are "TONS" of errors ona ram chip, i believe that would be in the same field as Defective. and im not shur its legal for a manufacturrer to sell Defective ram at OEM pricess.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 04:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 31
Default

The reason cheap ram is cheap is because of the manufacturing process and the minimal testing

Once you get a few bad sticks like I have, you'll be more skeptical
mramige is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

for anyone reading this... i found my own answer. i noticed all or most ram from good sites have a lifetime warrenty, and most ddr is cas 2.5 anyhow. so im not listening to these spammers. cheep ram is prolly better then the 'Average' user needs. (i did say Average user in the first post right?<i didnt know ppl could be internet deff> )
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

I am not a spammer . We are just forewarning you that cheap ram is cheap for a reason . I know from personal experience. Cheap ram can make your computer automatically reboot while doing an intensive application like like playing a game . Many ddrs are CAS 3 and you don't want those .
Northbridge is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 06:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

"Cheap" is fine if you don't have the money, good luck to ya, but if you have the money then go with the supposedly more expesive because it is faster. Cheaper RAM usually always has CAS 3 timings, which is pretty bad and the basic rule of thumb is you should always get CAS latency 2.5 or lower

But if you don't believe us that is fine, just next time don't post a topic asking for our help when your not gonna use it and blow us off
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 06:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

Very well said merlin. If youre going to blow off any advice given to you dont ask in the first place. As far as the ram goes if all you had to worry about with cheap ram was a little slower performance then i would say go ahead and get it, but cheap ram can cause a ton of errors and that will get real annoying real fast. Just spend a couple of extra bucks and get something a little better. You wont have to deal with the errors and your pc will be faster its a win win situation.
__________________

__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.