Ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-28-2004, 03:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default Ram

Hey I'm not too familiar with RAM other then it's purpose. Can someone explain to me what the difference is between PC2100, PC2700 and PC3200 and all that? Also what is CAS? is it to do with the voltage or something, because the motherboard I was looking into buying says that it can only handle 2.5 Volt memoroy, would that mean that I could only use PC2700 DDR CAS 2.5?
__________________

Fokz is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Voltage is usually the same on all DIMMs so don't worry about that...

CAS, is CAS latency....basicly a speed measurement for the RAM.....These are expressed in 2, 2.5 and 3....2 being fastest and 3 being slowest. CAS 3 is most often found in the cheapo value RAM. You can't really tell the difference between 2 and 2.5 unless your an OCer, so just look for either one of those and that should be good.....

PC2100, PC2700 and PC3200 are the speeds of RAM.....They are also called DDR266, DDR333 and DDR400, respectively.....The number after DDR(Double Data Rate) is the speed in mhz(DDR400 runs at 200mhz, but double data rate so 400mhz effectively). The number after PC is the RAM bandwidth, so for PC3200/DDR400 its 3.2gbs

Any more questions
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Then wouldn't PC3200 have the greatest speed? ... and I only see PC3200 with CAS 3...which you are saying is the slowest?
...Which RAM would you say that I should consider buying?
Fokz is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

What processor are you looking at getting?

Yes, CL-3 is slower then CL-2.5 but when you look at overall speeds 400MHz is faster then 333MHz. So, the PC3200 is faster overall.

Cas Latency is: the amount of time it takes for the first bit of data to be sent once the read command is issued in a read burst. a CAS of 3 means the number of cycles it takes between the CAS being issued and the first piece of data being sent.

CAS of 3 is only slow leading up to the first burst of data after that it is just as fast as any other memory module rated at CL-2.5.

Voltage is is not an issue since all memory will run at 2.5v.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

ook, that makes since. I'm looking at getting a AMD Athlon XP 2800+ or 3000+ XP.
Fokz is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fokz
ook, that makes since. I'm looking at getting a AMD Athlon XP 2800+ or 3000+ XP.
I believe those are both 333mhz FSBes?? I know the 2800+ is atleast and that would mean to get best performance you should go with DDR333 and if the FSB is 400mhz, go with DDR400
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 04:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Default

...Well that would only make perfect since *slaps self in head*. heh, I'm beginning to learn :P
Fokz is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Knowledge is power only if you apply what you have learned....
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 4
Default on the topic...

while we're on the topic of RAM, does anyone know if corsair xms pc3200 ddr400 RAM will work on the new ASUS SK8V board for the new FX processors? and is ECC required?
thanks
ram2390 is offline  
Old 05-28-2004, 05:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Re: on the topic...

Quote:
Originally posted by ram2390
while we're on the topic of RAM, does anyone know if corsair xms pc3200 ddr400 RAM will work on the new ASUS SK8V board for the new FX processors? and is ECC required?
thanks
If its for an FX series then the RAM must be registered
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.