ram - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2004, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 64
Default ram

Can anyone tell me if using two different types of brands of ram will affect my computers performance.

AMD XP 2500+ barton
Dane-Elec 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - OEM
160 GB WD
80 GB WD
ECS l7s7a2 mobo

want to purchase a stick of :

Geil Value Series Golden Dragon 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-3200 - OEM (its on sale and it has better reviews than the Dane)

but dont know if i have to stick with the Dane?

Please advise?

sergiofar is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 02:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718

no as long as there the same speed

My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 02:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Same frequency is critical,,but is would work

however, the second question is performance,, how does the Golden Dragon fare against the Dane??

Do your homework before you spend your money,, remember that the BEST combination is No combination ..

Like likes Like,,

My two bits,,

Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 02-24-2004, 05:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

well the memory brand you are currently using is bad to begin with. generally stick with the same brand and series for memory.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 02-25-2004, 02:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

there have been a lot of incompatibility issues with different RAM brands - I have 2 brands (128MB PC133 Micron Technology and 64MB PC100 Hitashi) with no prob of SDRAM but DDRRAM is different
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.