RAID, SCSI, PM2044UW, Make sense to anobody? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2005, 12:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

right. I have an os on the computer alreadi. I have a hd hooked up through IDE. I wanted to use these others as an add on to that or will this not work? I have an extra comp lying around? Would it work better converting it to a file server? Cause i wanna store dvd isos on it (yes they are legal isos)
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:32 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Yes you can use it as storage. But your gonna need a PCI SCSI card for your computer, and a SCSI cable to hook up the enclosure.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:50 AM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

right i have both of these.
Quote:
I took the external Hard Drive Enclosure (houses a bunch, not sure how many) and the corresponding PCI card,
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:52 AM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well, hook it up!!!! And enjoy the power of at least 4 drives in a SCSI raid.

It would be good for storing ISO's. and other random files.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

are you reading the posts im making?
Quote:
put in the card, and i hooked up everything, and the computer posted, showed the sata driver thing that always shows as the computer posts, then it says something about SCSI which means something good is happening, then it jus stops. any ideas?
thats what happens when the computer boots with the SCSI card in, the enclosure cord going into the scsi external input and one scsi hd on the internal input on the scsi card
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

also, the enclusure has leds on it. there are 3 of the 4 hds in the inclosure. thats how i got it. i got an extra one from a storage closet. the 3 leds light up red. is this good or bad. also the leds on the scsi card are red too.
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 11:31 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Well, did you check your BIOS boot priority.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 12:15 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 80
Default

ummm no. what would it need to be set as
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.8 ghz
Gigabyte: GH-PCU21-VG 3D Cooler Pro
1024 mb OCZ Ultra High Performance Ram (Dual Channel)
PNY nVIdia GeForce 5200 128 mb
60 gb hd
17\" Hyundai lcd
Wireless G Networking Interface
Unusable 100 gigs of scsi hds in an inclosure

result: one kickass pc
<a href=\"http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates&amp;id=124815&amp;t=64\"><img border=\"0\" alt=\"Get Firefox!\" title=\"Get Firefox!\" src=\"http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/110x32/get.gif\"/></a>
crazyb8ss is offline  
Old 08-03-2005, 01:32 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

1.CDROM
2.FLOPPY
3.HARD DRIVE

4. > (network)
> (SCSI)

(in any order in which you like)
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.