RAID Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2005, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default RAID Question

Does having a RAID configuration only work with 2 or more hards drives on seperate SATA ports?

For instance, could you partition a hard drive and then use a RAID configuration on the two partitions?
__________________

__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-11-2005, 08:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

That doesn't make any sense. What wud u gain by doing this? Let me tell you why. Even if this is possible with a s/w Raid controller, it server no practical purpose.

Raid 0 - improves performance by allowing multiple HDDs to participate in the IO process. When one is working away to find info, the other one can get new requests, etc.

If you have both "hard drives" in one physical hard drive, Raid 0 is pointless as there is only "one" HDD and the improvement of multiple HDDs participating in IO is not present.

Raid 1-whatever - this is used for redundancy. If one disk fails, you can recover data. If you have your "raid HDDs" in one physical drive, where is the redundancy? If the drive fails, the data is lost!!
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Yeah, you're right, it would be a bit silly... just wondering if it is possible though... relax.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smileygladhands
just wondering if it is possible though... relax.
Relax dude? Wasn't agitated in the first place.. Just answering your question.. <rolleyes>
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Sounds like someone needs to do some reading on RAID.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 11:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chankama
Relax dude? Wasn't agitated in the first place.. Just answering your question.. <rolleyes>
*sigh* so many sensitive jerk-offs out there..
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

Smiley, he really wasn't agitated...I can tell.

And seriously, separate SATA ports, and different partions, really no need for it.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by smileygladhands
*sigh* so many sensitive jerk-offs out there..
Sensitive jerk-offs??. wtf??.. Dude, you are the one that supposedly thought my original post was "too agressive".. Or whatever the hell you thought in your little mind.

And this is the kind of **** u post in response when someone helps you?

Note to self: don't answer any of this idiot's questions again. And when I say idiot, I really am also making a reference to your original question.
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Guys, don't turn this into a flame war.

I know what he said. He's wrong, and he's not worth torching things over.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 12:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

True true Shoobie. This thread is over as far as I am concerned.
__________________

Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.