RAID PROBLEMS! Please Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-08-2004, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Default RAID PROBLEMS! Please Help!

I'm getting such a big headache with seting up this damn raid; hope you guys can help me. I'm using an Asus P4T533 Mobo that has an onboard promise 0+1 Raid Card. Also have 2 120GB Western Digital hard drives. I switched the jumper on the board and then built an array. Installed xp pro and everything was fine and dandy. Got into windows and everything looked good; even saw the hard drives as one big one. The problem was that my pc would pause and lock up intermittingly for about 5-10sec. Like it was thinking very hard. lol. I checked my bois and i have ver 1006. I'm preaty sure that is the newest one but i'll double check.
Please help me
__________________

Kahalekulu is offline  
Old 04-08-2004, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 451
Default

I didnt understand a thing you just said........lol
__________________

Chubz is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 04:19 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

he's saying that he has 2 120GB drives that he merged into one, and now it keeps pausing

the pausing would be a confusion about which hard drive to put the data into
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-09-2004, 10:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 424
Send a message via AIM to Erik Send a message via Yahoo to Erik
Default

Did you have it setup to RAID 0 or RAID 1? RAID 1 will send the data to both hard drives so that you have a backup if one fails. RAID 0 splits the data between the two, making it much faster, but if one drive fails then you lose everything.

I don't really know what could be wrong. I would try uninstalling it and trying again. Just reformat the hard drives, reinstall RAID 0 with windows.
Erik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.