RAID Difficulty - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2004, 04:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default RAID Difficulty

A have a computer that has two 80 GB HDs in a mirror. The lady that owns it recently installed AOL 9.0 Security Edition, and after that her computer froze, so she unpluged it while it was on. Needless to say, when I got there, I found her computer was trashed with several errors on her harddrives, and the mirror was broken.

So I managed to get it to start in safe-mode, and ran a scan disk. The scan disk found and fixed the errors, but when I reestablished the mirror, I got the same results.

So I broke the mirror once again, scandisked the HDs separately, and left the mirror broken with the computer booting off of a single drive with windows XP on it. (I couldn't finish reestablishing the mirror because I had to leave.)

My question is this: If I scandisk both harddrives, and repair all the errors on both, will I be able to reestablish the mirror, without loosing any data, or might I simply have a bad drive?
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

On a side note, the mother board supports SATA RAID but I have two IDE drives with SATA filters in there.
__________________

__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 01-01-2005, 09:37 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 330
Default

to fully get the drives working again you might have to risk loosing some data
Amd64Boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.