raid controller - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2004, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default raid controller

a raid controller is hardware, right?

anyways, onto my deal:

my cd/dvd burning software couldn't find my apsi/aspi drivers (whatever they are called), and the site for my mobo does not have a apsi driver download that i could try to reinstall.

also, at the same time, every time i boot up, i get a message that states that nothing is connected to my raid, which, i don't want anything connected to raid because i'm not using it.

so, i disable raid, well, i uninstall it and the burning software found my cd/dvd drive right away and i burnt a few things successfully first try. but, the message at boot up is still there. there was another thread with someone with ASUS's raid thing and someone told him to get rid of his raid stuff and the message would stop, it didn't for me.

and now, the comp "finds new hardware" and wants to install drivers and stuff for the raid controller which i don't want to do at all.

how do i stop the "found new hardware" for this paticular hardware? do i reinstall the drivers and then just disable them?

p.s. the raid controller is built into the mobo, cause when i installed the soundcard and vid card, and cleaned up a bit in the case i found nothing that i didn't know about in the pci slots.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 01:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

ohGrFreak,

Dude, you can goto 'device manager' and 'disable' the device. Uninstall will only make in install at the next reboot.

Quote:
my cd/dvd burning software couldn't find my apsi/aspi drivers
.Its ASPI[ Advanced SCSI programming Interface] They wont be provided by your mobo site. Its a windows software , you can google it and download if you want.
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 03:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

XP Professional also has some kind of software RAID feature called dynamic drive.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Hardware RAID performs much better. If you can spring for it, get a decent RAID controller card.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 05:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 74
Default

hey guys i have the personal experience of trying to get a performance upgrade by implementing xp raid 0(striped) on my mc. believe me its no good. i installed sims 2, colin macrae 4, in this raid partition but no performance upgrade but instead ,after some days, i got boot failures, and bad sectors comming up.
rama is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 09:10 AM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

why don't you have your cd/dvd install on the regular ide cable?
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 10:58 AM   #7 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EricB
why don't you have your cd/dvd install on the regular ide cable?
It looks like it's on a regular cable to me. Does it have to be on the same cable as the HD?
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by intercodes
ohGrFreak,

Dude, you can goto 'device manager' and 'disable' the device. Uninstall will only make in install at the next reboot.



.Its ASPI[ Advanced SCSI programming Interface] They wont be provided by your mobo site. Its a windows software , you can google it and download if you want.
Alright, I'll reinstall the Raid, then disable it. By the way, what does Raid have to do with ASPI? Because when I uninstalled Raid, the program found my ASPI drivers, so I don't need to download the ASPI drivers now.

Forgive me because I don't know how to double quote in the same post.

Peace
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 11:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ohGrFreak
It looks like it's on a regular cable to me. Does it have to be on the same cable as the HD?
No, it doesn't really matter. To avoid problems its better to place HD's and CD-roms on seperate cables.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 11-24-2004, 04:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

ah, EricB made it sound like the DVDR/CDR should be on the same cable as the HD. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.