Raid Array - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2004, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 66
Default Raid Array

Seen someone talking about it in a previous thread, im not computer expert, but im not an illiterate, i build my own computers and all but im not some genius, what is a raid array? Jus tryin to learn, thanks :-)

atd332 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 03:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858

raid come in 2 basic kinds, RAID 0 and RAID 1
what raid does is you take two hard drives that are exactly the same and hook them up in a RAID 0 array so they will work like one HUGE hard drive, or if you go with RAID 1 then they will store same data and that way if one crashes, all your pr0n is still safe (basically RAID 1 is a backup system)

GageMW is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 03:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

(redundant array of independent disks) is a way of storing the same data in different places (thus, redundantly) on multiple hard disks. By placing data on multiple disks, input/output operations can overlap in a balanced way, improving performance. Since multiple disks increases the mean time between failure (MTBF), storing data redundantly increases fault-tolerance.

Redundant Array of Independent/Inexpensive Disks/Devices) – A method of providing data redundancy, improved performance and/or quick data recoverability from disk crashes, by spreading or duplicating data across multiple disk drives. Commonly used RAID types include RAID 0 (Data Striping), RAID 1 (Disk Mirroring) and RAID 5 (Striping with Distributed Parity). RAID configurations typically require SCSI disk drives (not IDE/EIDE) and may require identical drives (same capacity, brand, etc.). RAID arrays appear to the operating system as a single device.
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 06:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360

get a life dude if u want to know wat raid array is damn
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247

will show all you need to know
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 07:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530

Hey DUDE, what are you doing on a forum site if you think he needs a life? If you think you have one why dont you keep your stupid comments to yourself and leave. This happens to be a computer help and advice forum, where one would typically go to get advice and information, so i would say he came to the right place. If you think you know something about RAID why dont you tell him? hmm... you are a VIRGIN FRECKIN TECHIE! which is not a problem in itself but for you to spoutin off.. well
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 12-07-2004, 07:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default Re: Raid Array

Originally posted by atd332
Jus tryin to learn, thanks :-)
In simple terms a RAID array is like they said either putting two identical drives together and making them seem as one big drive, so half the data gets sent to each drive (RAID 0). or again using two identical drives and setting it up as one drive with a capacity of only one drive because all the data is being sent to both drives in case one fails. RAID 0 is pretty fast but it is risky as well if the RAID breaks or one drive fails the data is useless, whereas with RAID 1 you still have the other drive. I have tried RAID 0 before and it was cool but then my raid broke so i lost my data, but my drives are kinda sketchy (even thought theyre new) so i think thats why. you will either need onboard mobo support or a RAID controller to do this.

FoxyLoxy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.