Raid? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2005, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 34
Default Raid?

This might be a newbie question or not i dont know, anyways

Having just purchased an ASUS P5AD2 premium MoBo, they talk about "triple RAID systems" and Hi-Speed RAID systems

What is a RAID, and what are the pros/cons
__________________

osubuckeyes is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

heres a definition
This improves performance but does not deliver fault tolerance
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

Power, if you cant answer his question, then dont post. Raid comes in various forums, such as raid0 and raid1. Which are the most popular and widely used. Raid0 for example increase's data utilization, in simple terms your HDD can deliver data much quicker. Raid0/1 needs at least 2 HDD for this process to take effect. Raid0 uses 2 HDD as one. It divide's data in half, each HDD shares one half. Then when the time comes, each HDD loads each part of data togather. So in theory, you have 2 HDD working togather sharing work. Raid0 is very usefull. Now Raid1 needs 2 HDD as well. When raid1 is apply'ed you only get the storage of one of the excisting HDD. Because the second is a back up. Raid1 copys everything writing on the the prime drive, and copy's it to the second. So if that drive fail's, you have all your original data stored onto your back up.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

You actually got it backwards, a RAID array is a configuration of more than one drive that is immune to data loss, should a drive fail in the array.

A RAID 0 is not actually a true RAID as it is not fault tolerant.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I know raid0 is a laibility of course. I was just giving him a quick sum of what Raid0 and Raid1 do. I made a few typo's that i fixed, typing to quick. Maybe thats why you were confused.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

I was actually refering to the guy above ya, you replied while I was replying so I hadn't even seen it.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Here is the simplest answer you'll get:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Redunda...ependent_disks
Chankama is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

There's also software RAID, and the above mentioned hardware RAID.There's also many more forms other than 0 or 1.

RAID=redundant array of inexpensive drives

Basically it allows you to group some drives together and make them either act as one, or provide "striping" or complete backup of the data so if a drive fails you dont lose anything.By making them work together in parallel like raid 0 you theoretically gain some speed in file transfers.By using other schemes you make it so your data is more secure and recoverable if a drive fails and theoretically faster file transfers.Raid 0 is becoming popular with gamers due to the increased file transfer speed(see above answers), but in the server world you'll all kinds of combos up raid 5.It isnt always done with hardware either, its easily done with software too.It can also be done with a variety of drives and cabling setups, teh advantage is you dont have to have identical drives with some of the setups, and its cheaper than using an expensive commercial solution.
horndude is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 09:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Not having identical drives is kind of pointless though since the entire array will always be as slow as its weakest link so to speak.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 05-31-2005, 10:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

There are ways around that though, for example in a large array with one different drive thats bigger you can partition it off to make it match the others and use that space for something else.You can even use a combo of scsi and IDE, lots and lots of posibilities there.A block device is a block device, doesnt matter what it is physically or even what filesystem it has on it, thats the beauty of RAID.
__________________

horndude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.