Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2005, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default Raid

how could i set up a computer in raid? if it is supported by my motherboard will i need anything extra.

basically: tell me everything about raid and how to set it up.
__________________

SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

1.) your sig is too big
2.) for your new comp get TWO hyper x's, you don't need 4, in fact, have 4 dimms may decrease your performance
3.) try getting a better mobo with that money
4.) the atop psu is ****
5.) get a mobo that supports RAID and during the windows install, the first thing it asks you is press "F6 i think" to install raid
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 375
Default

sry that sig is old. thx for the info
SteveGTA is offline  
Old 04-10-2005, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

how do you want to setup ur raid?? peformance or reliability??
u need at least 2 identical hard drives.
u also need to find out which raid setups ur motherboard supports 1-5.

so post the answers to those questions and we take it from there.
xotix is offline  
Old 04-11-2005, 12:28 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to NickBrown7804
Default

I have a different question.

I asked this the other day but if i have 3 sata Hd's two for raid and one for bulk this would work jsut fine right?
__________________
Sometimes I wonder if I\'m enough a nerd to do this...

Intel P4 3.6 Intel LGA775 board.
Nvidia BFG 6800 GT OC PCI-e.
Ultra 600W power supply unit.
2 80 gig Maxtor (raid0) 160 gig (bulk)
OCZ 2048MB 4200 DDR2 (2 x1024MB)
ThermalTake. Tornado primary.
19\" LG LCD
NickBrown7804 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.