Raid - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2004, 01:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default Raid

Can someone please explain to me what raid is and how it works? I know it has to do with mirrored data on 2 harddrives but thats it. thanx.
__________________

Circa219 is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:03 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Redundant Arrays of Independant Disks has to major levels that the average user is concernced with. Level 0 (striping) and level 1(mirroring).

Striping is more about speed increases and mirroring is more about data protection. Basically you need to hard drives that are exactly the same plugged into a raid controller. If you have striping enabled, the computer will see the two seperate hard drives as one big hard drive and will write data onto both of them at the same time (half on one half on the other). This makes data access almost double in theory (though in practice it is less than this). The downside to this is that if one harddrive fails, you loss ALL your data.

Mirroring is when the computer writes exactly the same data on both harddrives, giving you a good data back-up. If one harddrive fails, the other one steps in and just keeps going.

Striping is probably the best one to go for, as the cost per megabyte of mirroring is very expensive. However make sure you back up your serious data if u are using striping.
__________________

sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

easy to say raid 0 increase HDD speed while raid 1 backup data.
there is raid 0+1 which have both advantages.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 02:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

tell me this though . . .

i know what raid0 and raid 1 are . . .

is there a difference between raid 0+1 and 1+0?
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

It just depends what you do first and how you want them set up. say for example that you have a set of 10 disks that you want to set up:
-RAID 0+1:
RAID 0, then RAID 1: Divide the ten disks into two sets of five. Turn each set into a RAID 0 array containing five disks, then mirror the two arrays.
-RAID 1+0:
RAID 1, then RAID 0: Divide the ten disks into five sets of two. Turn each set into a RAID 1 array, then stripe across the five mirrored sets.

However there are no naming standards (which is incredibly stupid) so a company that says RAID 0+1 could mean either. Generally speaking though, the above is true.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

ehh too complicated and useless (and probably slow) i'll just stick with raid0
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

actually it would be really fast and yo uwould have guarnteed data safety. But its more for big businesss than anything else. not for us small time users
sithspawn is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 11:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 233
Default

10 HDDs are expensive however I would love to have an array such as that. 5x in theory yet relyable, N I C E
__________________
Come visit a new technology and digital image arena website where you may compete in monthly image contests and chat about technology. t3ch.l33t is currently searching for members to help manage different areas of the site. t3ch.l33t Image Arena Home

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v3...ch_l33tsig.jpg
crazybeans is offline  
Old 07-21-2004, 03:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

10x 73.4GB Raptors!!!!

but you need a big case for that

or a lot of external enclosures and firewire ports
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.