Radeon X800 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2004, 02:39 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 340
Default

The x800xt is what i got, it depends on which of the two cards you can afford.
__________________

__________________
I wish I had a computer but I am broke!!!
AndrewtheGreat is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 03:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by didi
How come the latest graphic card didnt use PCI Express ?
Is more faster isnt?
PCI express gives more headrooom for better graphics, but for now games don't utilize PCI express 's capabilities. So for a while you won't be able to tell the difference in games played on AGP or PCI Express.

PCI express is sure to be expensive when it comes out , so why pay more for something that won't perform any better on games on for the next 6 months.

When I build a new computer it will be one that has an AGP and PCI Express on the motherboard and it will be a socket 939 motherboard.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 03:47 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
PCI express gives more headrooom for better graphics, but for now games don't utilize PCI express 's capabilities. So for a while you won't be able to tell the difference in games played on AGP or PCI Express.

PCI express is sure to be expensive when it comes out , so why pay more for something that won't perform any better on games on for the next 6 months.

When I build a new computer it will be one that has an AGP and PCI Express on the motherboard and it will be a socket 939 motherboard.
so you have a 2.8C? how do ya like it??? i am getting one soon
__________________
intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
soundblaster
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:15 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -=B$=-
so you have a 2.8C? how do ya like it??? i am getting one soon
It's a good processor for the money.My only complaint is the heatsink and fan aren't very good and the processor can get pretty warm.
Northbridge is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 04:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 183
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Northbridge
It's a good processor for the money.My only complaint is the heatsink and fan aren't very good and the processor can get pretty warm.
what gmaes do you play??? how high can you crank up the setting before it laggs???
__________________
intel pentium 4 2.8C with HT 800mhz fsb 512k cache s.478 northwood core
1 gig pc3200 DDR400 dual channel
gigabyte P4 titan GT PRO 865G chipset; GA-8IG1000pro
7200rpm 8mb buffer 40gigWD ATA100
52x DVD rom
40x CD burner
WIN XP pro
wireless logitec mouse
soundblaster
DUAL monitor setup: 17 in proview crt, and 15 in IBM crt
priamry mon-gainword geforce FX 5600 ultra 256mb core-378 mem-560
2nd monitor: ATI 128 rage pro 16mb
neon light side fan, exaust fan,thermal cpu fan, and 2 more
430 watt pwer pack
-=B$=- is offline  
Old 06-18-2004, 05:05 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 149
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by -=B$=-
what gmaes do you play??? how high can you crank up the setting before it laggs???
I play KOTOR, but I can't really help you on the settings because I've got a MX440 which has oly 64 megabytes of memory and only allows me to do 2x Anti Aliasing and 2x Anisiotropic filtering. I'm going to build a new computer in the next several months and it will be an Athlon 64 with a X800Pro. If I'd already built my computer I could be of some

Besides, as long as you've got a 1.5 GHz or higher proccessor it doesn't make a lot of difference what games you play or what the graphics settings are, it all depends on the video card. That's why I can't give you a good comparison because your card is vastly superior to mine.Now upgrading from a celeron to a P4 Northwood which has a cache twice the size of a celeron you will see a difference in game performance.
__________________

Northbridge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.