Radeon Troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2004, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default Radeon Troubles

hey, i bought a radeon 9800 pro 128 mb from futureshop (canada) about 4-5 months ago...it was working pretty decent (not as well as i hoped though) in the beginning, but now its crapping out on me and is worse than my old 9000 pro 128 mb...does anyone know of futureshop's return policy on that, or what i should check to fix it?

thx in advance

*EDIT* It MAY be the power supply, I have a Sony PCV-RX 560 and it is probably running some really cheap parts
__________________

BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 10:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Thumbs up Yes

It's all detailed on the bill.Did you get extended warranty ?
Call 905-848-6057 in the GTA.
__________________

bluto is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

Without any details we cant help you. Get a thermeltake psu and see if that helps it any or borrow a good quality one from a friend.
XT is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default OH !

Let him decide on mine.I think it can,why or how did you decide it was the power supply ? There for hardware,not MBD plug and play cards.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

i think it's the power supply because its a relatively old sony comp, with a p4 1.7, 512 sd ram, 80 gig hd, cd-rw, dvd-rom, tnt2 gfx (which i upgraded to radeon 9800)...nothing that requires too much power...sony would prbly opt for a 200-250 watt to save money

here's full specs from cpu-z:

CPU(s)
Number of CPUs 1

Code Name Willamette
Specification Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 1700MHz
Family / Model / Stepping F 0 A
Extended Family / Model 0 0
Brand ID 8
Package mPGA-478
Core Stepping C1
Technology 0.18 µ
Supported Instructions Sets MMX, SSE, SSE2
CPU Clock Speed 1693.7 MHz
Clock multiplier x 17.0
Front Side Bus Frequency 99.6 MHz
Bus Speed 398.5 MHz
L1 Data Cache 8 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L1 Trace Cache 12 Kµops, 8-way set associative
L2 Cache 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 64 Bytes line size
L2 Speed 1693.7 MHz (Full)
L2 Location On Chip
L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
L2 Bus Width 256 bits



Mainboard and chipset
Motherboard manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Motherboard model P4B-LX, REV 1.xx
BIOS vendor Award Software, Inc.
BIOS revision ACPI BIOS Revision 1004
BIOS release date 10/18/2001
Chipset Intel i845 rev. A3
Southbridge Intel 82801BA (ICH2) rev. A3
Sensor chip Winbond W83627HF

AGP Status enabled, rev. 2.0
AGP Data Transfert Rate 4x
AGP Side Band Addressing supported, enabled
AGP Aperture Size 64 MBytes



Memory
DRAM Type SDRAM
DRAM Size 512 MBytes
DRAM Frequency 132.8 MHz
FSBRAM 3:4
CAS# Latency 3.0 clocks
RAS# to CAS# 3 clocks
RAS# Precharge 3 clocks
Cycle Time (TRAS) 6 clocks
# of memory modules 2
Module 0 Hyundai Electronics SDRAM PC133 - 256 MBytes
Module 1 SpecTek Incorporated SDRAM PC133 - 256 MBytes



Software
Windows version Microsoft Windows XP Workstation Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)

I'm having a LAN party this week so i'll just try the card in their comp for a bit...any other suggestions

No i did not get extended warranty...i'm 14 im too damn poor
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default P4 1.7 old ?

God i thought i was doing good,it's only 15 months old.
But yes you need at least a 300 PS according to asus anyway.
Sony and Dell is Hell and might short change you that way.Thats why i go custom.

bluto is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 01:32 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 297
Send a message via AIM to BlindApex
Default

the p4 1.7 is only 15 months old? you must be mistaken i bought this comp almost 3 1/2 years ago, november 2000

i would have gone custom but i knew nothing about it at the time :P (im only 14...10 at the time of buying the comp)
__________________
[size=2]
AMD 64 3200+ Socket 939
DFI LanParty nF4 SLI-DR
BFG GeForce 6600GT OC
WD Caviar 200GB SATA-II
Thermaltake Venus 12 HSF
CoolerMaster Wavemaster Case

|P|A|I|N|T|B|A|L|L|
my anti-drug
BlindApex is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 318
Default

custom all the way man.
__________________
[size=0.5]
  • ANTEC SONATA QUIET CHASSIS ATX 3X5.25 6X3.5 PIANO BLACK 380W TRUEPOWER
  • AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ PROCESSOR S754 2.0GHZ 512KB L2 CACHE RETAIL BOX
  • MSI K8T NEO-FSR ATHLON 64 S754 K8T800 DDR AGP 5PCI SATA RAID 1000LAN SOUND
  • OCZ DUAL CHANNEL OPTIMIZED 2X512MB DDR PC3200 CAS2 W/ COPPER HEAT SPREADER
  • SEAGATE BARRACUDA 7200.7 SERIAL ATA 120GB EIDE 7200RPM 9MS 3.5LP
  • 1.44MB BLACK 3.5IN FLOPPY DRIVE
  • ATI RADEON X800 PRO AGP8X 256MB DDR3 VGA DVI-I TV OUT RETAIL BOX
  • LITEON 52X32X52 ATAPI IDE BLACK CD-REWRITER SMART-BURN OEM W/ SOFTWARE
  • LITEON BLACK 16X DVD-ROM INT E-IDE OEM W/ SW DVD PLAYER
  • [/size]
cell567 is offline  
Old 03-13-2004, 09:57 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Default Sorry but

Quote:
Originally posted by BlindApex
the p4 1.7 is only 15 months old? you must be mistaken i bought this comp almost 3 1/2 years ago, november 2000

i would have gone custom but i knew nothing about it at the time :P (im only 14...10 at the time of buying the comp)
The Pentium 4 processor was a long way off in 2000 when you where only 10 you say and bought it.?
I was reffering to the "latest in 2003"P4 1.7 cpu.
2000.P1 233.
bluto is offline  
Old 03-14-2004, 02:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

I would agree that it is your power supply. Unfortunately, you are probably not going to be able to fit a larger standard power supply in there unless you transfer the contents to another case. That's the bad part of buying a proprietary PC.

Here is an article about the introduction of the P4 processor dated May 2 2001.


http://www.timescomputing.com/20010502/nws8.html

-Target
__________________

Target is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.