Radeon 9600SE installation troubles - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2005, 05:12 AM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default

i just convinced them to buy me the graphics card and my dad was all like do you really need this son its alot of money. i dont think hell be happy that we have to buy more stuff
__________________

Dirtbike is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 07:48 AM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

What bios are you running ? The latest bios has all the updates , if you read the older version enhancements and fixes they do update the video compatibilities as well as addresing chipsets updates .I would look into that .Without having the product code i cant find specific info on the MB but i believe your MB supports 2x4x AGP .The 9600 is backward compatible to 4x so it should work what have you got to lose If you dont know how to flash a bios find someone who does .Heres the link to your system
Compaq P7000US
__________________

__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I thought 2x and 4x were different voltages or sizes.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 01:28 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Default

if my 8x fits in a 2x, they are the same size.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...t=94354&os=228

where is the bios? i remember updating it a long time ago, but i dont remember where i got the update from
Dirtbike is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 05:17 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

voltage or sizes has nothign to do with it... all agp 8x cards should be backwards compatible with agp 4x (just because the card is 2x doestn mean the mobo is 2x as well)... the fact of the matter is that if u uninstall the nvidia drivers and try to install ati drivers.. not all the nvidia drivers get deleted.. so you should reinstall windows from scratch and ur graphics card should work perfectly fine... if it doesnt... pls dont hurt me
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 06:27 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

AGP 2x and AGP 8x use different voltages and speeds. the 9600 cannot run at AGP 2x, it can run at 4x but it will bottleneck it.

considering his card was in the TNT generation, the motherboard would run at AGP1x or 2x, but not 4x or 8x, and has different voltages
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 08:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

its the rompaq update also use your service tag or serial number and post the motherboard specs
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 09:04 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

no BIOS update will make any AGP 2x motherboard support AGP 8x. it is to do with hardware
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:05 PM   #19 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

AGP 4x will not bottleneck a 9600Pro at all

AGP 4x VS 8x wont even bottleneck a 6600GT, if you dont belive me, i have proof.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 01-23-2005, 10:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
AGP 4x will not bottleneck a 9600Pro at all

AGP 4x VS 8x wont even bottleneck a 6600GT, if you dont belive me, i have proof.
don't take this as an argument, but where can I see that?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.