R.A.I.D. Drive or controller - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 01:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Question R.A.I.D. Drive or controller

I want to know if i buy 2 normal, basic hard drives and a raid controller will i be able to set up a RAID 1 system? or do i need special RAID hard drives? basically i'm asking is RAID a type of hard drive or can RAID be used on any hard drive, with the proper controller.

P.S. do some mother boards act as raid controllers? E.G. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813136157
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 01:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 976
Default

No, all desktop PATA and SATA HDD's can be put into a RAID configuration.
__________________

__________________
AMD X2 4400+ Toledo 1MB/Asus A8N-SLI Deluxe/2GB Kingston HyperX/SLI Gigabyte 7800 GTX 256MB/Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS Plat w/ Creative Inspire 6.1 speakers /180GB Hitachi PATA/19\" AG Neovo F-419 LCD/OCZ PowerStream 600W PSU/WinXP Home SP2
DoomUK is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 01:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

so the hard drives are the same, but they are just being used in a special way? also, what about my motherboard question
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 02:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Max, simply out of curiousity and of course to provide you with the most efficient solution based on your inquiry, what exactly will you be using this configuration for?

I suppose that my initial concern is that raid1 is extremely inefficient and it's high overhead. Indeed, two similar drives (pata or sata) will work with the proper pata or sata controller. However you will want to make sure that the drives used in this confiruation meet the requirements for your needs.

As for your motherboard question... Yes, most newer mothboards these days provide controllers for your basic, dual drive minimum, Raid configurations (0, 1) and (0+1 if you happen to be blessed with 4 drives). The raid controllers simply integrated rather than added through a slot.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

i just wanted know. i dont really intend to use Raid 1, i'm a gamer and i like the idea of Raid's redundancy and most importantly the ability of merging multiple physical drives into one logical drive. however i realize that the cost to use Raid 1 or 0+1 is very extreme and i dont really 'need' the redundancy.
MaximusNukeage is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 04:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Well, in that case, I hope we were a help. Being a gamer, I feel you most certainly should look into a SATA RAID controller. Seagate would be your wisest drive choice, in my opinion.
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 05:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 132
Default

you did help, thanks guys
__________________

MaximusNukeage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.