QUICKLY, NEED ANSWER NOW!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2004, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Exclamation QUICKLY, NEED ANSWER NOW!!!

Ok I'm in the midst of putting my comp together, and I'm at the Ram installation. The manuals say to firmly push down on them until the clip thingys snap back into place. I push down, but I notice that the mobo is sorta bending...is this suppose to happen, I mean the mobo won't snap in half or anything right??? If you know, PLZ TELL ME!!!!
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

That should be fine, your motherboard will flex a little bit, it will take up to 20lbs of pressure to get the modules installed. Try to push down one side at a time to get the white clips up. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT HELP THE WHITE CLIPS UP!! If you help the white clips up the module is not seated all the way and could damage your motherboard.

Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 15
Default

no it want go to half ...push it slowly it will clip up....
falcon_eye is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

Push it, push it real good.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

WARNING!!! 20-POUNDS OF PRESSURE IS A LOT LESS THAN IT FEELS!!!

If you're having difficulty seating RAM sticks, take the mobo out. Get a (dry, clean) towel and fold it up neat and flat on a table, put the mobo on it, and then install the chips. The towel will provide enough back pressure to keep the board from cracking.

Also, make sure you check your chips and the sockets you're working with. Not all chips fit in all sockets. Be mindful of the notch and orientation. Make sure you touch only the edges, and apply light, even pressure. Sometimes, it just takes a long time for a new RAM slot to "spread" enough to let the RAM in. Above all, don't throw your weight into it and don't "shimmie" the RAM in.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

CrucialLabs, when you say "get the white clips up", are u talkin about how the white clips'll snap into position?
Regulus is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

With sufficient pressure the ram sticks will pop into place making the white clips go into place, he's just saying dont force the damn things down. Although, i have done this many times without any problems....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 15
Default

regulus !!!!

after giving it a slight preasure the white clip will automatically clip up...be carefull dont try to put the clip manually.....it can cause u more prob .....
falcon_eye is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 04:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

*** Make sure that you push the module in straight (both sides at same time) - as over time you will damage the module's pins. ***
ag3 is offline  
Old 08-27-2004, 05:32 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok, got 'em in...whooooooo was I nervous. Anyways, I have another question, hard drive question.

: = back pins I= jumper

1. ::::: slave or master
2. ::I:: Master w/slave present
3. :::I: Slave
4. ::::I Cable select setting (How it was when it came and now)

Which do I do?????? And how do I move/take out jumpers??????
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.