quick ram question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2004, 09:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default quick ram question

I have a gigabyte board and im going to be ordering the p4 3.0Ghz processor tonight. Anyway I already have a 256 stick of kingston ram and I would like to add another 12. Would it be better to add 1 512 stick or 2x256 sticks giving me a total of 768. The board is capable of running dual channel memory. BTW this will not be OC'ed at all. Thanks
__________________

Dutch is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

it would give you best performance with a total of 2 sticks of RAM, so they run in dual channel.
I suggest either 2x256 or 2x512MB if you want the extra performance, but if you don't want to worry about dual channel, I think 1x256 and 1x512 is the better of the options you posted
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 15
Default

similar sticks are equal to similar combinations. thus, you need similar sticks to perform dual channel.
Mel Function is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 09:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

if u have dual channel Mobo, then i'll suggest, dumping your old memory (or) buying same manufacturer's stick of 256MB making it to 512 total.

else ur dual channel wont work

both sticks have to match latency (at least) if not manufacturer.

and are you on Intel 865/875 chipset?
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 71
Send a message via AIM to Dutch
Default

Intel 865PE + ICH5
Dutch is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 10:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

MSI will have definately QVR of DDR Manufacturers (as I can assure of Asus though).

if latency matches, then hopefully it will work, else i'll recommend either buying same DDR as your old Memory.

(or) , dump ur old mem, and buy a matching pair.
__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Old 10-03-2004, 11:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

A bit off the subject, but if I have a 939 socket board commin, and two 512 ddrs that I want to run in dual channel, do I have to set that up in bios or will it automatically do it for me?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 10-04-2004, 04:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

the motherboard will automatically turn on dual channel
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.