Quick PSU quality question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2005, 08:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
Default Quick PSU quality question

http://www.techfever.co.uk/products.asp?recnumber=120

THERMALTAKE W0010 PSU 480W XASER SILENT SILVER

and

http://www.techfever.co.uk/products.asp?recnumber=122

THERMALTAKE W0020 PSU 480W BUTTERFLY SILVER

Im just looking to save a bit of money on the PSU i first picked for the pc I have almost built, but I thought these looked nicer, were cheaper and had a name that was recommended to me. So are these quality, and will they work just fine?
__________________

Keaton is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to XkillerX
Default

Get the silent one Lots of people love it and the quieter the better.
__________________

XkillerX is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

First count up all your components you will plug into it and look at the amps the PSU can provide.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
Default

What do you mean by amps? I added up my components on a wattage calculator and the total was a little under 400W (I allowed for an addition of an extra HD and optical drive in the future, I did not account for any future external devices.)
Keaton is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 01:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

hey Person- does that 580W Demon Powmax PSU work well for you?
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 91
Default

Alright, I just ordered anyway.
Keaton is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 04:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Quote:
What do you mean by amps?
Even though you've already ordered, I will clarify this for you.

Amps are the measurement of current running on each of your rails. Obviously the more amps on your rails, the more powerful they will be and the easier it will be for them to power your equipment due to the electricity moving faster.

http://www.sweclockers.com/html/rece.../psu-label.jpg

You can see on the label of that power supply under DC output it lists the rails (3.4v, 5v, 12v etc.) and underneath each rail it lists the rails current in amps.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-30-2005, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 82
Default

Pilotwings119:
Do not get that powersupply if that is what you are thinking. I already have an RMA for it and ordered another one. It is crap simply. Bad quality components that don't fit and the v12 rail can't keep up with the few components that I have (according to specs it should, and should have a lot power left).
__________________
<font size=\"1\" color=\"red\"><strong>My specs:</strong>
AMD Athlon 64 3500 Winchester
MSI Neo2 Platinum NForce3 Ultra
2GB Corsair XMS Ram
520W Aspire Triple Fan PSU
GeForce 6800 Ultra
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
10,000 RPM 74GB Raptor
120GB Maxtor
Princeton 17\' DVI Monitor
Logitech Cordless Duo MX
Creative P7800 7.1 Speakers
AOpen DVD Dual Layer recorder
</font>
Person is offline  
Old 02-03-2005, 02:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 404
Send a message via AIM to Pilotwings119 Send a message via Yahoo to Pilotwings119
Default

ok- i was just wondering- thanks
Pilotwings119 is offline  
Old 02-04-2005, 11:39 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 120
Send a message via AIM to Therock
Default

What do you guys think of this one? I'm thinking of ordering it. Any comments?

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...182-010&depa=0
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego @ 2.8GHz
DFI LanParty nf4 ultra-d
eVga 7800GT 256MB
1GB OCZ extreme series (2 x 512)
OCZ 550 Watt PSU
Samsung 200GB 7200rpm
Tsunami Dream Case
Therock is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.