quick ide channel question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-27-2004, 05:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default quick ide channel question

currently i have two identical lite on 52x32x52x cd-rw burners on my secondary ide channel, one master one slave. on my primary ide channel i have one western digital 160gb on master.

i'm condidering buying a new dvd burner and was thinking how i would best integrate it into my system. i've heard that there sometimes problems with drives when you combine it with the hard drive ide channel .. since both the hard drive and dvd burners are best on master setting. if i had the dvd-burner on primary ide channel as slave, what would the effects be .. or if there is a better way to wire it completely what would that be? thanks!
__________________

AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 527
Default

Why do you need 3 burners in the first place?
__________________

__________________
P4 2.26 ghz, Intel d850emv2 mobo, 768mb of pc800, sony 4x dvd-rw, teac burner, nvidia ti4600 graphics, enermax 330watt ps
4 silent uv fans, cold cathodes in full tower antec case, round ide cables

SOny vaio 2.66 ht ghz modded into raidmax case with green cold cathodes.
P4 2.8ghz HT, 512mb ddr, Intel KD865gbfl, onboard video, raidmax case, blue cathodes, round ide, loomed wires, 4x dvd burner, wd sata 80gb hard drive
Intel d865perl, 2.8ghz northwood, antec sonata, wd caviar 20gb, Corsair 512mbx1 for now. 380watt psu, ati 9600, dvdrom cdrw floppy in black too match case
mrzeeedler is offline  
Old 06-27-2004, 08:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

The thing is, if you have a cd-drive connected the the same channel as your hard-drive, it becomes slower to access that disk. This is because data can only be transfered one way across an IDE channel, and therefore the data cant be written as its read (on the 'fly'). If you have it set-up on a different channel, the data can be written as it is read and therefore is faster.

However it makes more sense to have a burner on a different channel as you will notice a difference in speed more than if you have a burner on the same channel. Also having a cd-drive on a different channel to your burner makes copying cd's faster.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 01:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to AznRurouni007
Default

so if i wanted to mostly burn data from my hard drive to the dvd drive the best thing to do would be to put one of my cd-rw's on the primary ide channel with the hard drive, and put the dvd-rw on the secondary channel with the other cd-rw.

and if i wanted to burn a dvd from one i already own, i have to make an image first on hard drive then reburn it onto a dvd-disk since i don't have a dvd reader drive?
AznRurouni007 is offline  
Old 06-28-2004, 02:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

youve got it. i would do exactly what you just said.

have fun
sithspawn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.