quick format - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-29-2004, 05:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default quick format

Hi
What is quick format? and why does it take less time to format than the normal format?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 05:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 402
Default

As far as I know a quick format wipes the drive clean and a full format write 0’s to ever sector. A quick format should work if all you want to do is delete everything and install your OS again.
__________________

__________________
PC Specs:


Corsair TX550M ENTHUSIAST 550W
Intel B85, S 1150, DDR3, SATA III, PCIe 3.0 (x16), MATX MoBo
Intel Core i7 4790K, S1150, Haswell, 4 Core 4.4GHz Turbo
16GB (4x4GB) Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 PC3-12800 (1600)
4GB MSI GTX970 GAMING PCI-E
960G SanDisk UltraII SSD + 2TB SEAGATE Hard Drive
Windows 10

**Spud**
Spud5437 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

quick format only wipes the file allocation table
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

i was trying to format my external drive since one of the entries was not readable because of some reason.
i guess the file was corrupted, if just the file's entry is removed in the table, the data location's corresponding to the file will not be filled tilll those locations are needed.

is there any way i can free those locations right now other than the main format process.
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:32 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

maybe with a disk-editor or something..but it requires some knowledge...

anyone knows?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 06:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

You can check out SDELETE. It's supposed to clean up all the unused space on a hard drive....
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default

I used a program I think it was called EasTec format or something of the sort.. used that because typical windows format wasn't cleaning the lost space on my drive.. The program had like 10 options for formatting.. I used the one that wrote 0's and 1's I think and I got like my missing 30Gigs back.. boy was I missin them =p
Demalii is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

hey what does lost space mean?
sdelete seems to be a CLI based utility, i like using the mouse
all these CLI based programs are developed for people with IQs much higher than me
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:48 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO
Default

Quick format is basically formatting done faster than a mormal format. Of course there are probably differences between the two other than just how long it takes to format something.
__________________
<a href=\"http://oi-forums.com/index.php?topic=187.0\"><img src=\"http://img171.echo.cx/img171/2096/getopera9zg6jw.png\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by OIDanTheManIO
Quick format is basically formatting done faster than a mormal format. Of course there are probably differences between the two other than just how long it takes to format something.
really? quick format is faster than normal? naw, thats a lie!

lol, jk jk jk
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.