quick domain question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2007, 02:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default quick domain question.

When you register a domain with "insert domain registration company here"

How do you get access to email domains with the same domain listed?

Like let's say you register stupid.com and host the domain on your server.

How do you make emails from that domain. Like say you get three email accounts with 25 meg of space with

yournamehere1@stupid.com
yournamehere2@stupid.com
yournamehere3@stupid.com

anyone mind telling me how this works?

Thanks
__________________

gloomer is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Not entirely sure how it works. But when you register a domain name with a host, they generally have this feature and all you have to do is login into the admin area and you should have the option of creating a new email address along with the password and then it gets set up for you and stuff.
__________________

__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Does your web host use CPanel? You can do it in there.

It would be www.stupid.com/cpanel then you log in with the details your web host gives you.

If they don't use CPanel, you might be able to do it with PHPMyAdmin.

EDIT: By the way, I doubt the people you get the domain from are going to give you an email account, unless it's just a re-direct to another email. I say this because emails take up hard drive space. All you buy is a domain, so you'd have to do emails with your web host and use the web space that you bought.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 08:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

I dunno, generally I would go for a host that has the features that I require just so it makes life a little easier. My current hosts have such a feature
__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 08:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

If you simply buy a domain from someone, you will not get emails from it. You have get them through the people that you buy the actual webspace from.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 11:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

Yea, I know that, but they generally have a backend for you to set one up, so I dont know where gloomer is getting his domain from
__________________
<a href="http://www.flashyflashy.net" target="_blank">flashyflashy.net</a>
darkninja is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 01:47 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 162
Default

Well I'm asking this question, because I will be the webhost.

I'm trying to get a server up and running.

So who should I buy my domains from where I can get this feature?
gloomer is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 08:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to andyb250 Send a message via Yahoo to andyb250
Default

Hey Gloomer: THIS IS A LONG LONG HOW TO

There are upsides and downsides to what you want to do. Downsides - there is a good chance that depending on your ISP you have at home that you'll get #1 - a dynamic ip address - #2 - the HTTP port 80 will be blocked - #3 - your ip assigned by ISP will be blacklisted by spam blockers - #4 - when your stuff is down the only one you can complain to is you - #5 - if you are going to do it with microsoft then the software ain't going to be cheap.

IF you are like me and look past all that - then you are up for the plus side - ITS FUN AND if you've got the software or run free linux then its CHEAP! I mean who else can say they run their website and mail server out of their home?

The main knocks i have about it is Verizon FIOS is blocking port 80. This means I've got a nasty redirect. But we'll get into that later.

First - dynamic ip - goto www.dyndns.org and register a free domain to keep track of your ip. Download the client software and load it on a server or program it into your router. This will keep you up and running at www.yourname.dyndns.org.

Second - load up a box - Easiest is Win2k or Win2k3. Do a standard install. Then configure IIS and do a DCpromo to promote to domain controller (we'll need this later for mail server)

Third- run a port scan. Make sure your port 80 and 25 is not blocked from the ISP. Verizon FIOS for home does this. If you are not blocked then forward port 80 and 25 to server ip within router. If 80 is blocked then email me and i'll help you out.

fourth - make a quick easy html file called index.html with text "test" inside it (notepad). Place it in the c:\inetpub\wwwroot\ directory.

fifth - call a buddy and have him goto www.yourname.dyndns.org - your test web site should appear (I'm skipping ALOT of finer details)

sixth - install exchange (or download trial ver) and install it. You'll have to have AD and DNS configured properly. After installing exchange run the exchange mail wizard and configure it for your domain you registered with dyndns.org. Once exchange wiz is setup go back to AD and setup an accout with email (it will be part of the wiz).

seven- goto your workstation, join the domain you built (domainname.local) then launch outlook. Configure outlook to connect to exchange server (servername). Put in username to connect to AD and built mail acct)

eight - send a message to your buddy from before - have him check his spam bin if he doesn't see it.

after all this if you're happy then register the domain for real (www.yourname.com) and then just point it to your www.yourname.dyndns.org domain. You can do this for $10. I got mine on special for $2!!!

I have two servers in my basement that are old boxes of mine. I loaded win2k3 on both. One is hosting website - the other is hosting exchange mail. I registered domain and pointed it to dyndns.org free domain. I DID ALL THIS FOR $2. The interesting tid bit is ms exchange 2003 trail version has been running for over 6 months - i thought it would expire eventually???
__________________

andyb250 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.