Quick DDR Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-23-2005, 11:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default Quick DDR Question

if u over clock 2cl or 2.5cl DDR for example- sometimes u may have to loosen the timeings by going to 3cl, relitivly speaking(ppl have said)

but does it work the other way around? if u have DDR500 pc4000, and its running at DDR400 speeds, can u safely and easily increas its timing from 3cl to ex.- 2.5 or 2cl?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

if you overclock you have to change all the timings, although cas latency and cycle time effect stability the most. Yes it does work the other way around though. If the RAM is under clocked it can run at tighter timings. If your DDR500 is say 3-3-3-8 stock timings, then if it was only running at DDR400 you should be able to run it at 2-2-2-5 timings
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yeah, basically higher clock speeds require looser timings, and lower clock speeds have tighter timings.

That's why is CPU-Z you may see a few different frequencies listed, and the lower clock speeds have tighter timings.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 12:20 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Note: Generally you can keep tighter timings even while you overclock as long as you supply enough juice to them, but mind you of course there always is an architectural limit to where no amount of voltage will make the tight timings work
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-24-2005, 10:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Note: Generally you can keep tighter timings even while you overclock as long as you supply enough juice to them, but mind you of course there always is an architectural limit to where no amount of voltage will make the tight timings work
And, with extra voltage(juice) comes extra heat, and therefore extra cooling.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.