Questions for when I put my new hardware in - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2006, 07:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default Questions for when I put my new hardware in

Im ordering a new mobo and cpu and sata harddrive.

Im guessing I should clean install on the new harddrive and start it up like that and have my current one as a secondary. My Qs are this

Will my comp blow up if I dont do a fresh install on the new harddrive?

Are their any programs that will trasnfer my stuff from my old IDE harddrivce to my new sata one?
__________________

DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default Re: Questions for when I put my new hardware in

you guessed it right , just dont forget to set the boot order right in bios (so it wont boot from your old hd)

Quote:
Originally posted by DwayneDays
Will my comp blow up if I dont do a fresh install on the new harddrive?
its a computer not a dynamite obviously not , if youll try to boot from the old hd after connecting it to the new pc windows likely wont load (as the hardware is diffrent)

Quote:
Originally posted by DwayneDays
Are their any programs that will trasnfer my stuff from my old IDE harddrivce to my new sata one?
just install windows on the new hd and connect your old hd as you alredy had in mind , then youll see its partitions in windows explorer just drag & drop or copy & paste to the new , ntfs file system have permissions so youll probably get an *access denied* error while tryin to access some folders, just set the permissions properly and it will be fine , see this thread http://www.techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=98492

its a good idea to keep the old hd in the new pc , for backup , you can backup to other partition/s on same hd but it may go bad one day which is why backing up to another hd is much more reliable , use a good backup software like good sync
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Hey thanks alot man you were very helpful really appreciated the fast response
DwayneDays is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.