Questions about wireless hardware - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-22-2004, 12:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 69
Default Questions about wireless hardware

I recently bought a D-link wireless router with notebook card to use with my comcast cable internet. I installed and setup everything up fine. Sometimes the laptop wireless connects at 11mbps and sometimes it connects at 54mbps. I've looked through all the software to find something about connection speed and found nothing. Does anyone know what would effect this. Is this a software thing or could it be a hardware issue? I've tried moving the router around to no avial. I'll try a few more things before I call the manufacturer.

Thanks for any help Guys and gals

freenet is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,847
Send a message via AIM to OIDanTheManIO Send a message via Yahoo to OIDanTheManIO

Sometimes that will happen if your Connection Strength is at a low level. Typically, the higher the level of signal strangth, the faster the tranfer rate.

-Dan The Man

<a href=\"\"><img src=\"\"></a>
OIDanTheManIO is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 69

Alot of the time I am sitting within 10ft from the router with perfect signal strength so distance shouldnt be an issue in this case
freenet is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 12:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136

i get the same problem.. but only when the phone rings. wireless 802.11b and 802.11g are both on 2.4ghz frequency. well so are most wireless telephones (some are 900mhz and some 5.0ghz). so when the phone rings it interupts of the signal. its possible you have the same problem
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-22-2004, 01:08 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 30

Mine kept flicking between 54 and 11mbps too. When I gave in and called tech support they simply told me to change the channel in the card's properties, easy as that and the problem sorted.
jim_77 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.