Questions about RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2004, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Arrow Questions about RAM

Hey, i got questions about RAM...

i no there are different types like DDR and SD RAM, but i would like to no the difference between the 2, people say DDR is better, but why? it is faster, etc?

and the speed of the RAM, they have all these names and numbers, like PC 2700, PC 100, PC 133, PC 3200, etc, etc. whats the difference? the higher the PC # the faster? i understand that the speed is like 333 MHz PC 2700 and stuff, the 333 MHz is the speed right? so whats the PC # mean?

if you can sort of clarify this for me it would be great, this is pretty much the only thing i need to know before i cant start building my computer.

Thanks,
MissioN
__________________

Mission is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 09:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Good question that deserves a good answer.

SD stands for single data rate and DDR stands fo dual data rate.
The speed of the ram (eg. pc 3200) stands for the MHz of the ram. The higher the number, the faster it is and the more MHz it has. 2700 stands for 333MHz and 3200 stands for 400MHz.

If you are building a computer then I recommend PC 3200 ram. It is faster than said PC2700 ram and you should be able to notice the difference. Also, go for 2 sticks of DDR RAM (eg. 2x256MB sticks.)

I'm building a computer myself and take my advice-READ A LOT! The more you learn, the easier it will become and the better you will understand it. Good luck.
__________________

__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 06-04-2004, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

yea thanks alot, i thought maybe the numbers had something to do with the motherboard or processor, but i read alot and i didnt see any real connection when displaying the features/specs

i was thinking about getting
Ultra 512MB PC3200 DDR 400MHz Memory 2 Pack
its 1 GB, for like $330 (CDN)...

which is better? to go with for example 2x256 or just one 512? or maybe 2x512 or one 1024? and why?
Mission is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 12:30 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 228
Send a message via Yahoo to jaun1477
Default

SDRAM
SDRAM(S ynchronous Dynamic RAM) is so-called because it can keep two sets of memory addresses open simultaneously. By transferring data alternately from one set of addresses, and then the other, SDRAM cuts down on the delays associated with non-synchronous RAM, which must close one address bank before opening the next
SDR SDRAM
Synchronous dynamic random access memory delivers bursts of data at high speeds using a synchronous interface. Its is actually SDR SDRAM (single data rate SDRAM) but is usually used to referred to as just "SDRAM."

DDR: "Double Data Rate", Refers to RAM. This type of memory can access memory twice as quickly as regular SDRAM
__________________
EL VAQUERO
_________________
amd athlon xp 2400+
1 apacer 256mb unb pc2700 cl2.5
motherboard msi kt4av via kt400a chipset based
1 ??? 512 mb pc2700
1 agp 8x/4x (geforce 4 predator mx4408x)
2 year old 21 magnavox monitor
1 aquos sharp 15\"tv
Seagate 40gb hd
DC Output: 420Watts Total: +5V/0~42A, +12V/0~18A
+3.3V/0~26A, -5V/0~0.8A, -12V/0~1.0A, +5VSB/0~2.5A.
http://img44.photobucket.com/albums/...vantar_gif.gif
jaun1477 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 03:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 144
Default

Go with the 2 pack of 512MB. you will be able to run more programs at faster speeds with 2x512 sticks(1gig total) rather then just 512MB of ram.
__________________
R.Y.N.O. (Rip Ya a New One)
Diabolic Minotaur ATX Case
Asus A8V Deluxe MoBo Wifi Edition
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ CPU
2x Corsair 512MB PC3200 DIMM\'s
2x Western Digital 120GB Serial ATA Harddrives in RAID 0
Asus 16x DVD-rom Drive
Pioneer 16x DVD+rw/-rw DL Drive
eVGA Geforce 6800 GT
Aspire 500w PSU
Circa219 is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 03:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

lol well i knew that you could run more with 1 gig of ram over 512 of ram, but which is better? to have TWO 512's or ONE 1024
Mission is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 04:12 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

As to those number PC 3200, 2700 etc.... These represent the number of bits in millions or MBits. since there are 8 bits in a byte, a PC3200= 400MByte/sec 2700=333 etc... just divide the number by 8.
You will also note that depending on the quality of the RAM you will have diferent specs such as 8,3,3,3,
These number represent access time.
Imagine each RAM as a grid with columns and rows and each intersection point being a memory location.
These numbers are CAS and RAS or Column Address Strobe and Row Address Strobe. They represent the number of clock pulses required to access that particular row/column address.
So even if you have 2 sticks working at the same frequency, depending on the brand/quality of the stick it will take more or less clock pulses to access an address point. The lower these numbers, the better.
Since the row and column are not addressed at the same time with row being the first one, another spec is the CAS latency or the number of pulses between a row address and a column address. You can find a little more info here:
http://www.philrees.co.uk/articles/memory_specs.htm
Use any search engine and type your question (e.g. RAM specs explained) and you will end up with several pages giving you info.
Hope this helps
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 05:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 70
Send a message via AIM to pR3t3nD3r
Default

2 x 512 MB PC3200 (Trust me).
__________________
tHe pR3t3nD3r (A.K.A. gAngSta) ;)
P4 w/Ht-2.8GHz
Asus p4sdvx
Pioneer 4x DVD burner
Pioneer 52x CD buner
Gig of PC2700 RAM
120 Gig WD Hard Drive
ATI 9800 Pro
Chieftec Matrix Sky Blue case
300 Watt Power Supply :(
WinXP Home :(
Can\'t afford a Mac
pR3t3nD3r is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 07:17 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to Mission
Default

heh, now we have this OC Ram, god so many to choose from. i just stuck with Kingston Dual Channel 2x512 PC 3200 for $305.99 (Canadian)...not bad i think?
Mission is offline  
Old 06-05-2004, 11:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 303
Send a message via ICQ to mdshort Send a message via AIM to mdshort Send a message via Yahoo to mdshort
Default

Yea, 2x256mb used to be good but has since been outdated, go with a pair of 512mb DIMMs.
__________________

__________________
\"With every rise, there is a fall.\"

Need a good cheap host? Click Here
mdshort is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.