Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2004, 06:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default Questions

Ok ive got a few questions if you guys could help e. ok so this is my computer:

Pentium 4 2.6Ghz CPU running @ 2.9Ghz
1Gig DDR RAM
ASUS P4S800 Main Board
80 Gig HD
ATI 9600 Pro (128M)
One side fan.

Ok so first of all I want to know like how high do you think I can overclock it with one fan without risking it frying or anything, and how high do you think I could get it if I got a better cooling system/what do you suggest? Also, I want to be able to play new-gen games with as little slowdown as possible (HL2, Doom3 ect.), what do you think I should upgrade next? thanks for anyone who helps me.
__________________

gh0st is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i would upgrade ur graphics card
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

yeah thats what I was thinking too, but I wasnt sure. what do you think about my other questions?
gh0st is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

not sure...what r ur current temps?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

I dont know, im not sure how to tell, do you just mean when I go into the bios and look at the temps, or when im running like a game, or when im just sitting there at desktop? (I know how to look at the temp while in bios, but not the other two)
gh0st is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 06:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

there are some free programs to monitor the temps...damn...forgot the name

I would run a game for 30minutes and reboot as quickly as possible and get in yer BIOS to see the temps...but its better to google for a temp application or whatever

I am not sure how far u can OC, but if ur temps are low u can always get it a little higher, but ur RAM needs to be fast enough to keep up with ur CPU, but I am not sure how it werks on Intel CPU's.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

This is while running almost no programs (exept IE ect.):
(Actually the CPU1 temp is around 45* celcius and CPU fan RPM around 3,000, I guess it was still cooling when I took teh picture.)



This is while running Prime95 (A program that is supposed to push your computer to test after you overclock).

gh0st is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

i think its runs a little hot....i wouldn't OC ritenow
ask Kangaroo if it is safe to OC
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Ok thanks man. Also, does anyone know how high I could get it if I had like a water cooling system or something/could someone reccomend a good one?
gh0st is offline  
Old 09-27-2004, 07:46 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah that is a bit hot, beyond that...whats up with your +12v rail....it must be getting drained like a ***** to be down at 11.25. Your CPU should be WAY cooler than 74C especially with an Intel CPU as AMD's usually run hotter. Something isn't right in your setup man because you have an insanely high temperature and your +12v rail looks like it's being taxes quite a bit which could lead to stability issues. I think my thermaltake has a preventive measure where it doesn't let it get below 11.4 on the +12v rail.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.