Question for you AMD people - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 03:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default Question for you AMD people

AMD has performance ratings, mine is 3500+, a single core with the performance rating of 3800+ vs. a dual core with the performance rating of 3800+, wouldnt this mean they have the same performance?
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Erm, I don't quite get you. Can you elaborate further?

An AMD 64 3500 may indeed beat a 3800 Duel Core in something like, say, gaming (on a non multi-threaded game) by a frame per second or two, but in general the Duel Core will be far better because of its second core.

So on one core you're playing FEAR, with a performance slightly lower than that of a single core CPU, but with that other core you're also encoding some HD video. To do that with a single core you would have to do one at a time, meaning you'd be bored stiff watching the encoding progress bar. Duel core removes that problem.

The two really aren't comparable performance wise.

Hope that sorta answers your question.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 03:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

it did thx

just a little confused on performance ratings
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Performance ratings work for comparing AMD to Intel, for the most part.

AMD 64 3700 = Pentium 4 3.7ghz

Or, thats how its basically meant to work. Core 2 Duo obviously changes things.
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 02:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

but.....................

a 3800+ single core and a 3800+ dual core would be the same as a Pentium 4 3.8ghz......

dont make sence to me.
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 03:29 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

What doesnt make sense? Dual core has two cores and multi-threaded apps can take advantage of them both.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 09-04-2006, 04:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Imagine a 3800 X2 is comparable to TWO 3.8ghz Pentiums (obviously it isn't, but you get the idea)
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

Basically, its like getting 2 car engines and bolting them together, although your top speed may not be any quicker, your acceleration will be, and the reason that a Dual Core may not be as quick as a single of the same PR is that it has more circuitry and other "stuff" to enable the Dual Core thang! Like the weight of the 2 engines in a car would also make its top speed slower although its Torque is doubled, not its HP.

Basically, my advice is, if you want just high performance for 1 application, for instance playing a game, thats it, then its gotta be a Single Core of a high PR. Although if you MSN, Vent, Firefox, FEAR, and BitTorrent all at the same time, then most definatly a Dual Core is better.

Ruan
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 09-05-2006, 04:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:

Imagine a 3800 X2 is comparable to TWO 3.8ghz Pentiums (obviously it isn't, but you get the idea)
minor correction. the X2 3800+ is equivelant to 2x3200+ cores so more like 2x3.2ghz P4's. the 3800+ rating is gained from a set of benchmarks that AMD uses, most of which don't see a significant boost from multiple cores. if they saw no boost at all it would have a rating of 3200+ but because there is some boost it becomes 3800+ despite having 2x3200+ cores
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.