question for those with an ATI - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-25-2004, 09:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default question for those with an ATI

For those of you who have an ATI card. Did you change anything after installing the card? Anything from fastwrite, to VPU recover, or anything else? What settings do you find provde you with the best stability and least hang ups or crashes. I am wondering because I still have yet to figure out what i need to do to fix my vpu recovery error.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 09:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

fastwrite is one of the causes of instability so if you suffer from recovery error, you might try turning it off since your MOBO might not be 100% compatible. Another cause is the TRUEFORM. It is better handled true the software itself (game) than through hardware. Only a few games ever included instructions for TRUEFORM (Morrowind was one of them) so select off. What was your old card? If it was an NVIDIA based card, then you still have some files (even after removing drivers) present on your HDD. There are some programs outhere which will completely remove the unwanted files (detonator destroyer is one). Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 10:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

my old card was a 9600 pro, I have never had anything but ATI. I have tried turning off fastwrite in the bios, and after this some times the computer hangs up on the post with the floppy drive, when nothing is in it.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 11:23 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Have you tried completely removing the ATI drivers (from the remove/install in control panel) and do a fresh install. Have you also turned it off in your ATI control panel. What about TRUEFORM. Have you considered trying the omega drivers (from omegadrivers.net)?.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 12:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

If you turn off the vpu recover, your computers locks up hard, at least with the vpu recover you can go back into windows. What is trueform, and how do i go about changing that?
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 02:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

trueform is in your 3d options under custom, select always off. It was a hardware method of treating some information. Most games now include data treatment directly in the software so turning it off may resolve some issues. I would definitely try the omega drivers if I were you (omegadrivers.net). They work great and never caused me any problems whatsoever.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 10-25-2004, 08:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Yeah I have it off. Maybe i'll look into omega drivers, if i cant fix the problem.
__________________

__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.