Question regarding Evga 6600gt 128mb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-05-2005, 12:01 AM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default Question regarding Evga 6600gt 128mb

My forceware version is 76.45.
When I play CS:Source with bot, 16vs16, my fps running between 10 and 20.
When I play CS1.6 with ivpbot, 16vs16, in the beginning of round, fps running around 60, and then it'll be better if bot spread around.
I just want to ask if this is right or not.

Thanks!!!
__________________

amdrocks is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Yah, that right, expecially if your running high settings.
Your putting stress on the entire system, not just the video card.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

When I play cs1.6, my setting is 1024X768, 32bit. Refresh rate locked to 85hertz. Driver setting I turn antialisaing and anisotropic filtering to application-controlled, image settings to high performance, vertical sync to off.

What is the best driver setting for counter-strike?
amdrocks is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,487
Default

Well obviously the more pretty things you turn off the better performance you will get. Another option is buying an ATI card.
__________________
<font size=\"1\">Intel Pentium 4 3.4GHZ HT-------------------AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester
Intel Stock CPU Cooler------------------------Zalman 7700-Cu
Idle: 51C---------------------------------------Idle: 21C
Load: 72C--------------------------------------Load: 28C
ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe-----------------------GIGABYTE K8NF4-9 NForce4 4X
512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200-----512MBX2 Corsair XMS 2-2-2-5 PC-3200
ATI RADEON X800 XT Platinum Edition-------ATI RADEON X800 XL
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS----------Creative Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Western Digital Raptor 37GB 10K------------2X Western Digital SATA150 Caviar SE 80GB RAID 0
Antec True 480W------------------------------Thermaltake Silent PurePower 680W
Zalman 5.1 Headphones----------------------Zalman 5.1 Headphones
Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone----------Zalman High Sensitivity Microphone
Microsoft Multimedia Keyboard 1.0A----------Logitech Media Keyboard
Microsoft Intellimouse Explorer 4.0A---------Logitech MX510
3DMark05: 5,928------------------------------3DMark05: 5,000</font>
dale5605 is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

turning up your virtual memory may help
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 01:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

I just ran the CS:Source video stress test. In the driver setting, AA and AS turn to application-controlled. Image to high quality. Vertical Sync to off. I got 88.61 FPS. Is this a good score for my system?
amdrocks is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 02:27 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

seems right

i get 90 with 4aa 16af all high

but i get around 33fps now on the test with 16:10 widescreen 2aa 2af all high
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 10:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 70
Default

I set the same setting as you did, but I get around 80fps.....
80-33, wow that's a big difference there!!!
amdrocks is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 11:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

Try running a standard benchmark, such as 3DMark or Aquamark, and use the relevent results database to see exactly how your system stacks up.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 06-05-2005, 11:45 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default Re: Question regarding Evga 6600gt 128mb

Quote:
Originally posted by amdrocks
My forceware version is 76.45.
When I play CS:Source with bot, 16vs16, my fps running between 10 and 20.
When I play CS1.6 with ivpbot, 16vs16, in the beginning of round, fps running around 60, and then it'll be better if bot spread around.
I just want to ask if this is right or not.

Thanks!!!
This is very common.

Playing CS:S is a demanding game, running a server is demanding on a computer. And the computer computing everything for bots is also demanding.

This is because you should not be gaming and running a server off the same PC, try using another PC for the server
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.