question on lcd screens with vga and dvi connections - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2005, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default question on lcd screens with vga and dvi connections

hi

i currently switch computers twice a day, cuase my dad has his own computer, that means i switch power/monitor/mouse etc all to one computer then vice versa when im done.

my monitor has a dvi-i output and i ordered a dvi-i to dvi-i male cable.

question im gonna hook up the dvi to my computer and the vga output to my dads..im only going to be turning on one computer so can i leave them both plugged in will there be any interference with leaving both plugged in?

so basicly dvi plug to my computer, vga to his, only one computer will have POWER to it.
__________________

gant is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

basicly the reason i want to each computer to have its own monitor cable is im worried i'll start bending the pins and i think one is already a little bent.

so it'll be nice to just leave the monitors alone and just switch around the power chord/mouse/keyboard/speaker and i heard dvi-i connection wil be better since my video card has a dvi-i connection on it,

question on that will my video card read it and start it normally when i put in the dvi-i connection?
__________________

gant is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 457
Send a message via AIM to damasta55r
Default

Why not a kvm switch?
__________________
First got a computer 4 years ago. Windows ME. Got second hand computers with different operating systems from my family members to play around with...

damasta55r-Cnet forum Computing.net techist.com Computerhelpforum.org

ASPIRE ATXB4KLW-AL Antec 400W
ASUS A8N-SLI Deluxe
AMD 3700+ San Diego
Corsair 1GB 2x512
eVGA 6600GT
250GB Hard Drive
Sound Blaster Audigy
Windows XP HOME W/SP2
damasta55r is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 11:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ok i never knew about that just looked it up.

so with this kvm then computer can share all BUT the power chords right? each power chord would have to be used seprately? is there any install cd or is it just plug and play?
gant is offline  
Old 06-15-2005, 11:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default

wait but then you would need to have a dsl router? or unhook the dsl line and hook it up to the computer u switch to so i mite as well just wait for that cable to come in and hook up my dvi-i cable to my computer and hook up the vga to my dads and then thats one less cable i have to swap, the rest take like 2 seconds to plug in

anyone got any answers to my orinal question?
gant is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.